Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

illusiumd

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 12, 2013
Bit of a noob here as far as networking. I need to upgrade my whole backup game after upgrading my hack tower to a studio. i’d like to get a synology disk station and hook it directly or via switch (10gb) to my studio while other devices back up to it via wireless. how would i do this? right now i just have a modem and a wireless router …

southerndoc

Contributor
May 15, 2006
USA
Synology offers two options for expansion cards: SFP+ and 10GBASE-T (RJ45). Probably the easiest way is to get a simple 10G switch (either RJ45, SFP+, or a mixture) and hook your RJ45 10GBASE-T from Mac Studio to the switch and connect the Synology to the switch. Your router doesn't need to be 10G capable so long as you aren't crossing VLANs. If within the same VLAN, the switch will handle all the traffic. If you go the SFP+ route, a simple DAC (direct attach copper) cable is all you need.

My 10G setup is a Synology RS1221+ with an E10G21-F2 expansion card that has 2 SFP+ ports. I connect both of these in a LAG (link aggregation) to a Ubiquiti UniFi Aggregation Pro Switch. The AggPro has a UACC-CM-RJ45-MG adapter made by Ubiquiti that converts SFP+ to RJ45 and sends 10GBASE-T to my Mac Studio over about 40m of CAT6a. Another one provides 10GBASE-T to my wife's MacBook Pro over about 25m of CAT6a. She is using a SonnetTech Thunderbolt 10GBASE-T adapter.

The link aggregation lets us both pull 10G separately. It won't allow you to pull 20G -- just 2 streams of 10G to separate connections. I have 8 8TB Synology HAT5300 drives in RAID10 array and get about 900-1000 MB/sec write speeds and 1000-1150 MB/sec read speeds.