Connect to computer without Itunes?

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by mclimbin, Sep 21, 2009.

1. mclimbin macrumors newbie

Does anyone out there have an idea how I could connect to a computer to play music over the computer's speakers without using Itunes?

I'm a teacher and I often use music in the classroom. I have a nice classroom this semester with a great PC and stereo system connected to the computer. I'd like to be able to easily plug my iPhone into the computer and play a song now and then, but I don't want to have to use iTunes on the computer (mostly because I'm a part time teacher and lots of others share the room and computer with me. Of course we have different accounts and log ons, but still).

Is there such a thing as a cable that is a mini stereo 3.5 mm to USB cable, so that music could be input to the computer? I used to do this easily with my Palm TX.

Any ideas?

2. Blueline29 macrumors 68020

Blueline29

This may be oversimplifying things, but would it be possible just to connect the speakers to your iPhone and play the songs that way?

3. lollicup macrumors regular

plug the 3.5mm audio cable from the speakers, into your iPhone

Female teacher ?

4. tnisatard macrumors 6502

haha plugging it in works, but if it doesnt, you can try using those FM trnasmitters

5. mclimbin thread starter macrumors newbie

I guess I should have mentioned that I don't have access to the back of the computer. It's in a cabinet and is locked down. I could ask the IT guys to come give me access when I need it, but they generally frown on us messing around in there.

That is why I was asking about a usb cable, as there is a usb port in the front.

Yeah, the simplest would be to plug the speakers into the iPhone. However, if the speaker cable is not accessible, it becomes less simple.

6. HighLife420 macrumors 6502a