connect to DSL automatically

Discussion in 'macOS' started by 4now, May 17, 2008.

  1. 4now macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #1
    I created a PPPoE connection for Bell Sympatico DSL.

    How do I have it connect automatically?

    without having to go through system preferences/Network/select account/connect

    thanks using Leopard 10.5.2
     
  2. StuBeck macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    I don't know how to get it to connect automatically, but there is an option to allow you to have it in the menu bar so you don't have to always do that.
     
  3. mckyvlle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Try these steps:
    1. Open up Network Preferences
    2. Select your DSL (PPPoE) connection
    3. Click "Advanced..."
    4. Choose the "PPP" tab
    5. Enable "Connect automatically when needed"
    6. Click "OK" and then click "Apply"
     
  4. donmei macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #4
    I know you didnt ask this question, but I suggest you get a router, so that the PPOE authentication is handled by that device, rather than your computer.

    Unless I'm missing something. It sounds like you are configuring your Mac to do the pppoe authentication.

    Don
     
  5. 4now thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #5
    this is selected.
    I still have to manually connect (but now using menu icon) thanx
     
  6. vashbul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    #6
    Having similar issue. Tried above advice:

    Open up Network Preferences
    Select your DSL (PPPoE) connection
    Click "Advanced..."
    Choose the "PPP" tab
    Enable "Connect automatically when needed"
    Click "OK" and then click "Apply"

    but in my case "Apply" is grayed out. Why? (Lock option is open.)
     

Share This Page