Connect to WiFi without remote

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by bammargera3176, May 21, 2019.

  1. bammargera3176 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    #1
    hey so I lost my Apple TV remote and just got a new WiFi system. I tried using the remote app instead but it says that I have to connect my Apple TV to WiFi for me to be able to use the remote app. Is there any way for me to connect to WiFi now? I can’t pair the Apple TV to the WiFi network on the remote app, which means I then can’t connect to WiFi at all? Any help? Does this mean I have to buy the actual remote to connect to WiFi?
     
  2. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #2
    I think this might work--try changing your wifi network name and password to the old network name and password. Your AppleTV should connect. Then use your iPhone and the remote app to reset the AppleTV to factory settings. Then you can restore your network name and password, and set up the AppleTV as new by pairing it with your iPhone.
     
  3. Longkeg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Location:
    S. Florida
    #3
    Yes, you’ll need a remote for the initial WiFi setup. But you may already have one. Any universal remote can be programmed to work with ATV.
     
  4. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #4
    I don't think that's right. Apple's remote talks to the AppleTV via radio, not IR.

    EDIT: I didn't think the latest AppleTVs had IR receivers. According to Apple's tech specs, I'm wrong.
     
  5. bammargera3176 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    #5
    The network thing didn’t work. So should this remote thing work??
     
  6. Longkeg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Location:
    S. Florida
    #6
    Only one way to know for sure. Try it and see. We eagerly await your report.
     
  7. PilotC150 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    #7
    All Apple TVs (at least starting with the 3, because that's the first one I have) supports IR. The Apple remote uses RF to talk to the device, but you can use IR, too. In fact, the remote itself also has an IR blaster, that's how you can change the volume on a A/V Receiver or TV from the Apple TV remote.
     
  8. Cordorb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #8
    check if some person you know has the older silver IR Apple remote

    I tend to only use the remote in the iphone app but forgot if that can work on a new setup

    Good luck
     
  9. Longkeg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Location:
    S. Florida
    #9
    I still use the remote that came with my first generation (160gb) AppleTV. It works with all future versions. Although it doesn't have a trackpad or Siri, it has the advantage that it isn't married to a single AppleTV. It will work on any ATV anywhere.
     
  10. jtara macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #10
    Apple TVs that have an RF (Bluetooth) remote ALSO have an IR port.
     
  11. waw74 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #11
    a lot of "multi-in-one" remotes have the apple codes built in.
    There's a chance the remote for your cable box or other electronics already has the apple codes already in it. might have to dig out a manual to find them though.

    or if your TV supports HDMI-CEC...
    your TV remote should control the aTV over the HDMI cable. (just arrows, enter, and back buttons)
    (if you were controlling your volume by HDMI, then your TV should support this)
     

Share This Page

10 May 21, 2019