Connect to Windows server failure

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by mrbillypilgrim, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. mrbillypilgrim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #1
    Hi, all,

    Sorry to make my very first post here a problem, but here goes:

    I'm in a relatively new job, and I'm (luckily) the only one in the office running a mac. I'm on a G5 tower running 10.5.5.

    My problem is that I am unable to connect to our smb server here in the office, and, apparently my predecessor and former IT guy were unable to make it happen, either. The problem I'm having is that when I use the connect to server command in the Go menu in Finder, I get the ""The text entered does not appear to be a recognized URL format." Simple Googling led me to the fix of deleting the URL mount directory from the old mac, but that didn't work, and I'm still getting the error. I'm able to ping the server in terminal, but I can't get past the URL bit, even though I'm 100 percent certain I'm entering a valid URL.

    Does anyone have any other ideas?

    I'm planning on updating the OS ASAP, but the 800 MB download will kill the rinky dink connection here, so I have to do it after hours. Does anyone know if this issue was addressed in later updates?

    Thanks!
     
  2. thankins macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #2

    Mine all work just fine make sure you are entering the following into the connect to server text area

    smb://IP address

    press enter

    you should be prompted for your user name and password (if you are on a domain at work)

    username: domainName\user
    Password: password


    Should work for you just fine
     
  3. mrbillypilgrim thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #3
    Sadly, I've done that. No matter what the URL (and they have all definitely been entered correctly, I get the error message. It's driving me nuts!
     
  4. thankins macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #4
    is this a server or a workstation you are trying to connect to?
     
  5. mrbillypilgrim thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #5
    It's a server.
     
  6. thankins macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #6

    In the Finder, double-click on your hard disk.
    Open the folder named System.
    Open the Library folder.
    Open the Filesystems folder.
    Drag the folder named "URLMount (from old Mac)" to your desktop as a precautionary backup.
    Once the copy is complete, control-click the original "URLMount (from old Mac)" folder (not the one on your desktop) and choose "Move to Trash" from the contextual menu.
    Enter the name and password of an administrator if prompted. The first user account created on your Mac is an administrator account.
    Restart.
     
  7. mrbillypilgrim thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #7
    I've actually done that already (see OP) but I'm still getting the message.
     
  8. thankins macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #8
    I know 10.5 had some SMB bugs but never saw them first hand. What about upgrading to Snow Leopard. For the price and performance I don't see that it wouldn't be to big of deal.

    Plus you wouldn't see this problem anymore...hopefully.
     
  9. mrbillypilgrim thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #9
    I would, but it's a G5 tower so no Intel set and I can't go up to Snow Leopard :(
     

Share This Page