Connecting 30" Cinema Display to rMBP - What is the Cheapest Way?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by James.K.Polk, Jul 15, 2016.

  1. James.K.Polk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    #1
    Hey all,

    So I picked up the (old) 30" Cinema Display for $100 on my local Craigslist. It includes all the adaptors and power that came with the Display originally, but I understand you need dual-link DVI to Display Port to run it at the full resolution...

    So what is the cheapest way for me to do that? Apple's DL-DVI to mDP adaptor is $99 (though ~$50 used)... is that my best bet? Can I go through a "non-adaptor" and just connect the display director through DL-DVI to my computer?

    Thanks guys!
     
  2. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #2
    Your rMBP doesn't have a DVI connection, so you will need the adaptor. I recently sold a 30" cinema display, partly because we had no Macs in the office to run it. Plus the picture quality is not that great compared to more modern displays.
     
  3. James.K.Polk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    #3
    That second part I'm sure is true; I just appreciate (or will appreciate) the real estate and for $100, it's not a massive loss.

    The adaptor part confuses me a little... Can't I get a DP to DVI cable, sans adopting anything? Like https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B...title_olp_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER?

    Or do I need Apple's $99 (new) adaptor?
     
  4. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #4
    You'll need the apple one. The link you showed is for connecting a monitor with a DVI socket. As I recall it's hard wired. To get the full resolution you would need the adaptor. I reckon you should be able to find one second hand though.
     
  5. James.K.Polk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    #5
    You are correct.

    Now I'm stressed because I just got the monitor and it didn't come with a power supply. Not sure if the guy was trying to screw me or what, but this is not good...
     
  6. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #6
    Without that power supply its going to be a struggle. Did he state it was missing? I sold ours (with power supply) for £80 about a month ago.
     
  7. James.K.Polk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    #7
    No. I don't think he knew what he was doing, but now he's ignoring my messages... I'm genuinely on the verge of tears over here. I could hardly afford the monitor as it was, and I certainly can't afford to double it up to pay for the power supply.
     
  8. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #8
    Sorry to hear that. Not sure if you have any specialists who sell reconditioned Macs in your area (thats who I sold ours to with a load of old G5's), but they might have an old power cable and adaptor lying around.
    Other than that it's another trip to eBay/Craigslist.

    I've never used Craiglist but if it's like eBay can you request a return etc as it's not been sold as described? That way you'd get your money back.
     
  9. James.K.Polk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    #9
    It was a Craigslist-equivalent Facebook group. I don't think the guy is a dick, but no one else wanted to buy it and I'd bet he's just happy to be rid of it... The power adaptors are well over $150 on eBay (and nonexistent on Craigslist)....
     
  10. James.K.Polk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    #10
    I'll update, for posterity.

    I ended up getting an alternative power source (see the photo) and with some pretty basic wire-stripping and reattaching, have a power adaptor for ~$50, or at least $75 less than what you'd find for Apple's option on eBay. Less attractive though, certainly.

    I also found the dDVI to DP adaptor for $40 used on Amazon... and it came in original packaging, in basically new condition. My lucky day.

    The 30" Cinema Display is a pretty fantastic piece of hardware, and though the total package was just north of $200, I think it's worth it!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. buster84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    #11
    Thats an ok deal considering its an apple monitor, but if it was me i would have just bought a Vizio 43" 4k for $387 and used it as a 4k monitor instead for $200 more especially since you already have a retina macbook 2015 model which can handle 4k.

    Either way as long as your happy thats all that matters.
     
  12. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #12
    Glad you got it sorted. I like your coaster, who's it by?
     
  13. James.K.Polk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    #13
    Ah, me too! It's from ThinkGeek, I believe. I was a radiochemist before law school, and someone sent a set to me on the Reddit GiftExchange! They're each "radioactive elements" that glow when something is on them.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 4, 2016 ---
    May well have been a good option, though I already have trouble staring at 30" of screen.... Not sure I could deal with 43".
     
  14. Osamede macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #14
    Buy the official Apple adapter - it works that's that.

    For what it's worth, dont sink too much money into this. I have a couple of the 30"Cinemas at home (one on my desk and the other as a picture frame on the wall ) and I also the 27" Thunderbolt display at work - my summary is while the 30" is good for a cheap display, the 27" current model has a significantly better image quality. And runs much cooler. And only takes up a single port. And acts as a charger for your Macbook.

    So for cheap why not. But its not going to be worth making all kinds of investments and taking on headaches.
     

Share This Page