Connecting cable box to Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by SixtyK, Jun 26, 2015.

  1. SixtyK, Jun 26, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2015

    SixtyK macrumors 6502a

    SixtyK

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    Nebraska
    #1
    I have an Elgato EyeTV Hybrid that I have used to watch cable TV on my iMac for years. It works perfectly. Now, as my cable provider is switching to all-digital, I have to add their mini box in order to keep receiving my cable channels. The box requires HDMI which the EyeTV does not offer.

    Does anyone know of an alternative that would allow me to connect my HDMI cable box to my iMac?
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    @SixtyK Would the cable box by chance support coaxial out like mine does?
     
  3. SixtyK thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SixtyK

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    Nebraska
    #3
    It does, but the EyeTV Hybrid does not.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    @SixtyK You can't run coaxial from the cable box to the EyeTV?
     
  5. SixtyK thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SixtyK

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    Nebraska
    #5
    The EyeTV won't recognize it. Even Elgato's website says it won't work.
     
  6. eduardrw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #6
  7. eduardrw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #7
    If your set top box has a component output you can connect something like a sling box (don't know what output your Elgato takes as an input)
    I you only have HDMI at the stop box here is a Converter:
    http://www.gang-hu.com/gh_shop/index.aspx

    I use Comcast X1 - the setop box outputs HDMI - connected to the TV AND component - connected to the sling box.
     

Share This Page