Connecting damaged Air to iMac

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Billy1234, Aug 11, 2008.

  1. Billy1234 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #1
    Recently got Air and due to ridiculous accident the screen is completely damaged. Can anyone tell me if there's a way I can connect it via cable (and if so which cable) to iMac and retreive data from Air? I think the hard drive etc is still functioning, but the screen is unusable. Is there some way I can access the hard drive from another machine?

    Thanks a lot!
     
  2. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #2
    Does a montor or tv you have have DVI/VGA in?

    Can we see pics?
     
  3. Billy1234 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #3
    Yes, got a DVI/VGA. Tried plugging it into TV and get the 'wallpaper' from the laptop but can't see folders etc...

    Don't have pics, I'm afraid
     
  4. AppStorage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #4
    you can just use firewire to connect both of them and save the data!
     
  5. erickg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    #5
    Try clicking the fn+F7 at the same time (or whichever F-key has two boxes, with one overlapping the other) when you've connected via DVI/VGA. This will put the monitor in mirror mode, so you should be able to see the screen.

    Hope this helps!
     
  6. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #6
    he doesnt want to plug in a display he just wants to get the data off of it. for Macs with Firewire you can just connect a Firewire cable to the damaged mac and then start up in Target Disk Mode to access its hard drive from another Mac.

    but unforunately MacBook Airs dont have Firewire so the only way to do it IS to connect a display to the Air and then either transfer data onto an external hard drive or by the network to your iMac.
     
  7. AppStorage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #7
    another possibility would be to remove the hard disk from the airbook and put it into an external shell.
     
  8. erickg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    #8
    That's exactly why I explained what he should do to see his desktop on the external display. I'm sure he realizes his MBA doesn't have firewire. He might not want to plug it into a display, but to get his data he will need to.
     
  9. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #9
    ^ yeh i first thought Target Disk Mode but then i realised Air's dont have Firewire so i corrected my post and continued. sorry for repeating you.
     
  10. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #10
    do you know anything about the air?

    it doesnt have firewire and it doesnt have a removable hd

    your ideas would work for a mb and mbp (although for the mbp, the hd isnt user removable but is a ton easier than the air to do if you wished to)
     

Share This Page