Connecting iMac to internet

Discussion in 'iMac' started by tyroneshoelaces, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. tyroneshoelaces macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #1
    Forgive me for posting such an imbecilic question, but I really am ham-fisted when it comes to technology. I've just purchased a new iMac, 20-inch, one of the new intel ones. I have moved from a much older iMach, you know - the one with the semi-spherical base from which protrudes a silver arm on which the monitor is mounted. This one is connected to the net via a USB socket into which plugs a speed touch 330 modem, which in turn goes via a phone to the phone socket, and bingo - internet connection. That appears not to be the case with my new computer, but the manual that comes with the computer is spectacularly lacking in information. It tells me I need an ethernet cable - fine, but it doesn't tell me what this then plugs into and how it connects to the phone line to get my my connection. Can anyone tell me in plain language what I need? Thanks
     
  2. Acornz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    If your old USB modem plugs into a phone line, it's one of two things:

    A "dial-up" modem -- meaning it actually uses the voice phone line, meaning it's incredibly slow and you can't use it at the same time as making a phone call. If this is the case, and your modem is supported in OS X, you should just be able to use it (I don't think the new iMac has a modem built into it?). Or if you're really stuck with this, you might need a new compatible modem. Apple sells one, I think.

    A DSL modem -- this also plugs into the phone line, but in contrast it's reasonably fast, you don't have to dial anything, and you can use it at the same time as your phone line. If this is the case, and your modem doesn't work when plugged into the new Mac, what you need is a new DSL modem that uses ethernet. You can call your service provider for a list of compatible devices, and they should be readily available at stores like Best Buy, Circuit City, etc. Any DSL modem that has an ethernet port should be compatible with the Mac without drivers.

    The DSL modem will plug into wall power, and a phone cable will run from it to the phone jack in the wall. Then an ethernet cable (RJ45, the plug looks like the one on the phone cable but bigger) will plug from it to the iMac.
     
  4. tyroneshoelaces thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #4
    Another silly question. I have broadband, so I'm assuming you mean by dial-up a connection that involves my computer/modem connecting to the ISP by means of a number saved on the computer and not a connection that costs me a telephone call each time I connect?
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    If you have "broadband" and you use a phone cable that plugs into the phone line, you have DSL (DSL is the broadband technology that phone companies use).

    See the part of my post that starts with "A DSL modem" again. ;)
     
  6. tyroneshoelaces thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #6
    Thanks.

    Sorry, been posting replies only to find other replies have got in there while I've been typing. this is all useful. Thanks.
     

Share This Page