Connecting Keyboard to Garageband

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by isphoodman, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. isphoodman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #1
    Hope this was the right place to put this thread, if not, my bad.

    I have a yamaha keyboard that i want to plug in to my garageband (macbook) the only problem is that the keyboard doesnt have a MIDI input/output. All it has is AUX in/out Doe anyone know of any other ways to connect my keyboard to garageband? Thanks.
     
  2. cinca macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #2
    I believe you can connect midi instruments to the iPad via the USB port on the camera connection kit. Do a few google searches with that in mind and I'm sure you'll come arose what you are looking for.
     
  3. isphoodman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #3
    hmmm im not quite sure what you mean here..
     
  4. isphoodman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
  5. inscrewtable macrumors 65816

    inscrewtable

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Which yamaha model is it. My m-audio keyboard plugs into the usb on my mac for use in GB
     
  6. mannix87 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Location:
    in the southeast
    #6
    You can only input real audio into your mac with your yamaha in the absence of a midi output. You can do so via direct plug in via the line in or through an audio interface via usb. You need to buy the latter though. But if i were you, just buy a basic midi controller. Theyre quite cheap nowadays so you can avail of the soft synth library of garageband
     

Share This Page