connecting Macbook to my Panasonic Vierra (plasma)

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mossyfiber12, Jan 3, 2009.

1. mossyfiber12 macrumors newbie

I have a Macbook w/ leopard. I would like to watch DVDs and online shows that I watch on it on a bigger screen so it would be great if someone can tell me how to connect it to my Panasonic Vierra TV.

I went to best buy and I bought a Dynex mini DVI to s video cable adapter. An s video cable and a y audio cable w/ 3 male connectors to connect from the headphone jack directly to the TV.

But for some reason I can't get it to work, When I go to system preference and then display- change the res to 640 x 480 60z, I can see parts of the screen on my TV (in black and white) and even then not aligned properly. I also don't hear any sound from the TV when I play songs on my iTunes from this setting.

I couldn't get any other settings to work. I am new to this so any help and a simpler solution would be greatly appreciated:)

2. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13

S-Video is probably the worst possible connection you could have chosen.

Does the TV not have VGA, DVI or HDMI? If it does, go with one of them.

3. klempwrsu macrumors member

klempwrsu

You will not be able to get any sound coming out of the speakers with the mini-dvi to s-video cable. You will need to buy some speakers to attach to the headphone jack on your macbook, or use the built-in speakers on your macbook. As for the input, i would definitely use an hdmi to hook it up to your tv. I am not positive, but i think to use the hdmi you will need to get a mini-dvi to dvi adapter, and then install a dvi to hdmi adapter on that. you will probably need a longer hdmi cable also.

4. Tinknock71 macrumors 6502

Tinknock71

You would figure with this day and age that Mac can't add a HDMI port on there computers. Thats the only thing I don't like about Mac's

5. RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

DVI and HDMI require a royalty licence to implement, DisplayPort does not.