Connecting my imac to Virgin media

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by stephenaustin, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. stephenaustin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #1
    Good Morning. This is my first post as a iMac user.
    i have been using pc's for many years connected to what used to be ntl. (cambridge)Then when Virgin came along my perfectly good Win98 set up suddenly didnt seem to work they cant support Win 98 so i went out and bought a pc with XP and yes it connects immediately by itself.
    i am now going over to Apple and we have initially bought 2 166mhz Imac just for browsing only. Of course the helpdesk at Virgin are too young to even know what that is!!
    Can anyone give me some help - i have the virgin router with either ethernet or usb ports. (i also have a belkin wireless router for my laptop )- and the apple but it just wont work even though the apple was working perfectly well on the old ntl setup via USB.
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

    Steve
     
  2. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #2
    Use the ethernet connection. That works for me.
     
  3. Mr.Noisy macrumors 65816

    Mr.Noisy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK™
    #3
    Virgin upgrading broadband in your area.......

    are you using a cable modem? i know Virgin media are doing an upgrade program at the moment, upgrading those using the L Package up to 10 meg for free, But some of the modems need upgrading too, mine doesn't but i'd check it out.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #4
    If you have the choice between ethernet and usb, always use ethernet.
     
  5. dex71 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #5
    Got 2 old imacs and a tower connected to Virgin with no probs!.
    Was also originally NTL so used the old NTL disc to install, but now when you are installing from the CD they take you to their site to complete the process. Always use the ethernet connection as well as NTL never supported USB on the MAC from way back (this was when 1 meg broadband was considered blisteringly fast!)
     
  6. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #6
    Judging from your post you bought a couple of original Bondi Blue iMacs?
    Are they running OS9?
     
  7. stephenaustin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008

Share This Page