connecting my mac mini to LCD TV with leopard installed

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by djgerbavore, Jun 3, 2008.

  1. djgerbavore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a mac mini with leopard installed. I'm trying to connect it to my westinghouse 27 LCD TV (http://www.westinghousedigital.com/details.aspx?itemnum=51) But when I connect the vga cable to my tv; I get a black screen saying invalid mode. HOWEVER, when i had tiger installed on my mac mini it displayed perfectly on my tv. I don't really want to downgrade to tiger if I don't have too.

    Is there a way to get leopard to display properly on my TV? It seems to me that the mac is trying set a resolution that isn't supported by my tv. Is this a bug with leopard or is my tv being fussy with leopard.

    Any help or suggestions will be appreciated

    - djgerbavore
     
  2. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #2
    do you get a apple logo on boot ? you might just need to reset nvram on the mac
     
  3. djgerbavore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #3
    Yes, i see the logo,

    Will try to that. thanks for the quick response.

    BTW, I tried to connect my mac book air to my TV and I get the same results.

    Thanks
     
  4. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #4
    back to your TV - if the Air is also not working there might be a issue on your TV

    turn tv off plug in apple comp and turn tv back on , make sure you have set it to ( guessing ) PC like EXT 1 EXT2 PC ect ect
     
  5. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #5
    also your MBA will be able to do screen spanning - you'll have the screen on when you plug into your tv in prefs and display there should be detect display
     

    Attached Files:

  6. djgerbavore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #6
    Okay, I'll try that with the air.

    I'll let you know how it goes.

    Thanks,
     
  7. djgerbavore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #7
    I got my macbook air to display on my monitor, because I was able to change the resolution to something that works for my tv. Now is there a display profile file I can copy over to my mac mini so it will use the correct resolution. Like for example the Color Profile file in /Library/ColorSync/Profiles/Displays/LTV-27w7\ HD-2149C1C1.icc

    I tried copying this file over but it didn't work because this mostly deals with the color and not the resolutions. So is there a monitor or display file that will do the trick?

    thanks,

    djgerbavore
     
  8. djgerbavore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #8
    I think i'm going to setup screen sharing and try and change the resolution from a different computer.

    Does anyone know of a file or plist that changes the resolution or at least sets a default resolution when I'm pluged into my tv.

    Thanks,

    djgerbavore
     
  9. djgerbavore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #9
    Well I got it to display correctly on my TV. I vnc(ed) into my mac mini when plugged into the tv and changed the resolution to the one that my tv likes and it finally displayed on my tv.

    thanks,


    djgerbavore
     

Share This Page