Connecting my Macbook to my tv

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 2001ChevyZ71, May 22, 2011.

  1. 2001ChevyZ71, May 22, 2011
    Last edited: May 22, 2011

    2001ChevyZ71 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    #1
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    How to: Connect a MacBook, MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro to a TV

    But if you have an MBP with a DVI out, that cable will work to get a picture on your TV.
    For audio you need separate cables, but the guide I linked explains it very well.

    Btw, your thread titles is having a stroke ("tc").
    To edit your thread title, just click on the [​IMG] button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the "Go Advanced" button below your message.
     
  3. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #3
  4. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #4
    Newer meaning 2010 onwards :)
     
  5. renx77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    #5
    Yo. Word of advice!

    I hooked up my macbook pro to a 26" Samsung LCD TV, using a DVI>HDMI cable. The resolution looked like total crap. I tried a lot of things, a res app called DisplayconfigX, messing about with my TV settings, MBP settings, not much changed. Effectively I couldn't get the required 1370x768 resolution with that cable.

    I then tried a DVI to VGA cable, using an adapter on the way, and the picture was perfect, automatically adjusted the res to 1370x768, allowed me to access "PC mode" on the Samsung TV, and was overall a lot less hassle.

    This was all on 10.4.11.
     
  6. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Using an HDMI cable usually doesn't allow you to use the PC mode if a TV has one. The TV sees it as just another device and expects one of the standard TV resolutions, eg. 720p, 1080p, of which 1370x768 is not.
     
  7. 2001ChevyZ71 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    #7
  8. 2001ChevyZ71 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    #8
    can anyone please confirm my previous statement, i dont want to order the wrong item.
     
  9. dagamer34 macrumors 65816

    dagamer34

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #9
    If you have a laptop that was bought new after April 2010, you could even use this one: http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...d=1042802&p_id=5311&seq=1&format=1#largeimage
     
  10. 2001ChevyZ71 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    #10

Share This Page