Connecting Printer to Macbook

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gotlax24, Jun 21, 2008.

1. gotlax24 macrumors newbie

I just switched over to a macbook this week! And I am totally new to everything being wireless so I was wondering if anyone could help me on how to connect my printer to my macbook. The printer I have is a dell and it is connected to my dell pc which is also connected to my router and and cable modem. If anyone could give me directions how to print stuff from my macbook to the printer that would be great!!!:)

2. cbpps macrumors newbie

cbpps

I am new to mac also but i have learned a little. I inserted my printer disc for mac into my ibook and installed it. then:D I just insent the usb from my printer into my laptop and go to file and print what i want. I love my ibook. hope this helps. tuna

3. gotlax24 thread starter macrumors newbie

I tried look for the printer disk through all our CDs and when I couldn't find it I asked my mom if we ever had one and she didn't know:rolleyes: So is there any other way to connect to my printer?? Or do I have to go to dell and get a new printer disk??? I would prefer not to .. if anyone else knows another way.

4. r88my macrumors regular

Is the printer connected to directly to the router? If so you should be able to add it via the print/fax preference pane, click the plus icon (+) and it should appear on the list, just select it and the mac will do the rest.

5. gotlax24 thread starter macrumors newbie

No, my printer is not connect directly to the router.. only to the pc. What wires would i need to connect the printer to the router??

6. Ryan.Fork macrumors member

Depending on what type of router you have you may not be able to connect the printer directly to your router. To share the printer on your PC with your Macbook, there's a few steps you have to follow...