Connecting row clicks to viewcontrollers

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by akaash1087, Jun 28, 2012.

1. akaash1087 macrumors newbie

Hi
    I am a newbie in IOS.I am trying to design a Splitview app which consists of a master and detailsview controller.My master is a table view .My master view controller is called Rootviewcontroller.I create a UINavigationcontroller object and embed the Rootviewcontroller inside it.
    Now I have a navigation controller with my master view controller(Rootviewcontroller) as its rootviewcontroller.
    What I want is that on a row click on the masterview controller an appropriate VC should get launched.For that I have read the Apple documentation(Managing Selections in Tableview programming) and have implemented it the way it is given:

I override the didSelectRowAtIndexPath method.Inside it I deselect the earlier selected row,create a VC and then push it onto the navigation stack using the Push API.But it does not work..

Do we need to first create our own VC and then push that VC on the navigation stack? Or is it that only the detailviewcontroller can be pushed.
    And if thats the case,then how do we display different views for different rows??..Logically speaking shouldnt there be more than one detailVCs with different ones getting launched on different row clicks..??

I have detailed the steps above ,have I missed out anything??Do I need to pop some VC or something like that..

Any help would be highly appreciated....

2. jnoxx macrumors 65816

jnoxx

What have you tried to debug, because "it doesn't work", isn't really helpfull.

Basically, you need to know if your controller is a single view, or is in a navigationController? if it is, then what goes wrong, is your new ViewController nil or does it exist? did you try setting breakpoints etc?

Gz.

3. MattInOz macrumors 68030

MattInOz

This maybe a wild stab in the dark.
    Your project is for the iPad?