connecting TC directly to the mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by macchiato2009, Feb 18, 2011.

  1. macchiato2009 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #1
    sorry for asking but everytime i'm looking, most answers say that time capsule should be connected to a router

    i was wondering if the TC would work directly connected to my mac using the ethernet, not the usb

    thx
     
  2. admwright macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    Yes. That is how ours is connected - ethernet cable direct from Mac to TC.
     
  3. macchiato2009 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #3
    ok thanks a lot !

    i guess that with the ethernet, it is way faster than usb or firewire ?
     
  4. dXTC macrumors 68020

    dXTC

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Up, up in my studio, studio
    #4
    WiFi N = 150 Mbits/second (or 300 , depending on MIMO).
    USB 2.0 = 480 Mbits/sec.
    FireWire 800 = 800 Mbits/sec.
    Gigabit Ethernet = 1000 Mbits/sec.

    In this case, Ethernet FTW. Many people will connect their Macs to their new TC via Ethernet for a speedy first backup, even if they plan on backing up wirelessly later.
     
  5. macchiato2009 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #5
    ok great

    my only concern is about the reliability and durability of a TC

    most of them seem to die after 18 months... :(
     
  6. vincenz macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #6
    That affected only the older models. The new ones that came out in 2009 should be OK.

    Mine is 13 months old now, so 5 more to know for sure.
     
  7. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #7
    Just to clarify a few points:

    1. The Time Capsule is a router, and thus does not need a router to work. It can work connected to a router and having DHCP turned off, but it's not necessary. It does, however, need to be connected to a modem to be able to share an Internet connection.

    2. The USB port on the Time Capsule is to connect HDDs, printers, or a hub with HDDs and/or printers attached. It cannot be used to access the TC's HDD directly.

    3. The only ways to connect to the Time Capsule to be able to access the hard drive are through Ethernet or Wi-Fi. As others have stated, Ethernet is best for the first backup and Wi-Fi is adequate for subsequent backups as they are usually small in size.

    4. 802.11n (Wi-Fi N) can get theoretical speeds of ~170 Mbps on the 2.4 GHz band and ~300 Mbps on the 5 GHz band. That being said, you won't get these speeds accessing the TC's HDD as the hardware Apple uses inside the Time Capsule creates a bottleneck.
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    You still won't get these speeds even over Ethernet for the same reason. The Time Capsule's controller itself is a bottleneck.

    B
     
  9. dXTC, Feb 19, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2011

    dXTC macrumors 68020

    dXTC

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Up, up in my studio, studio
    #9
    This makes me kinda relieved I use a locally connected external hard drive for my TM backups.
     

Share This Page