connecting to my 42in plasma

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by deemad, Mar 3, 2008.

  1. deemad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    CALIFORNIA
    #1
    I recently connected to my plasma using divi to hdmi ... but it is treating my tv and laptop as if i want to use two screens. But I only want to use one screen. Right now i have to drag things off my laptop and over onto my plasma screen. Does anyone know how to fix this???:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
  3. IC3D macrumors regular

    IC3D

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    Fairfield County, CT
    #3
    I hope you've figured it out. Like the other guy said, goto displays, under system preferences.
     
  4. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #4
    Goto System Preferences -> Displays and select "Mirror".
     
  5. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #5
    Yep, I do this all the time...

    on my Sony Bravia LCD 40" and Sony Bravia LCD 32" and the Big Projector Screens at the campus. Others with their MacBooks are always running into this problem when running PowerPoint or Keynote presentations. :cool:
     
  6. IC3D macrumors regular

    IC3D

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    Fairfield County, CT
    #6
    What res are you trying to run it at?
     
  7. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #7
    Mirror it as already mentioned or run it in Clamshell (close lid, wait for sleep, key USB or Bluetooth keyboard).
     
  8. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #8
    I always run it at...

    1360 X 780 and it's the best, but if there's a bunch of print, I'll lower it to enlarge the font. 99% of the time it's at 1360 X 780. :cool:
     
  9. IC3D macrumors regular

    IC3D

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    Fairfield County, CT
    #9
    Oh ok, cause I'm sure you know if you were running it too high the screens might not pick it up (work).
     
  10. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #10
    Yep, usually older televisions...

    that aren't 1080i or not HD, but if that's the case the BlackBook will automatically adjust to the best screen resolution possible for the projector or television that I'm using. :cool:
     
  11. deemad thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    CALIFORNIA
    #11
    I got it!! But now I have another different question ...sigh...

    thanks for all the responses! shortly after I posted that I was playing around with it and i figured it out. I use it to watch movies that I compress on my mac.


    Oh does anyone use toast?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

    I want to buy it but i need to know if anyone knows where you can dl a decryption patch??

    I don't want to waste my money if it wont let me burn dvd's cause of the copy rights!!!
    :eek:
     
  12. coltks2004 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #12
    If I'm correct toast only allows you to burn unencrypted movies. I've heard that Fast Copy DVD is good but I have not used it. I have a program on my windows pc that I use called clone dvd and it works very well.

    http://www.fastdvdcopy.com/
     
  13. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #13
    I use HandBrake...

    and the most current HandBrake is a free download. I've burned over 40 DVD's via HandBrake and it's great for the iPod Touch, iPhone & the iPod Video, as well as the 40"ish and larger LCD or Plasma TV. Enjoy. :cool:
     
  14. Bobioden macrumors 68000

    Bobioden

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #14
    Best program to rip dvds is Mac the Ripper, then burn using Toast.
     

Share This Page