Connecting wirelessly to Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by predsednic, Dec 28, 2008.

  1. predsednic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #1
    I have intel Mac pro, and I want to connect it wirelessly with my iPhone 3g, to share data in apps such as BeatMaker and to use apps such as Apple Remote. What do I have to do? How can I connect these two? Please consider me a noob, and answer in this manner:) Thank you!
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Silly question, perhaps, but did you get the AirPort card for your Mac Pro?
     
  3. predsednic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #3
    I only have basic stuff that the most basic model of mac pro has, I didn't buy anything additional...
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Then you don't have an AirPort card and can't connect wirelessly right now. You'll need to take it to Apple to have one installed or try it yourself.
     
  5. predsednic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #5
    What about if I had a wireless router, which would be connected to mac with wire, could I connect my iPhone to mac through router?
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Now that's a question. I don't believe so, but I'm not certain. Anyone tried this?
     
  7. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #7
    You could theoretically enable internet connection sharing on the Mac Pro and use it as a gateway, but this really, really sounds like more trouble than it's worth. You could accomplish this much more easily with a wireless router, and you wouldn't even need to power on the Mac Pro to get to the 'net with your iPhone.
     
  8. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #8
    You want to connect like this?

    internet -> modem -> Mac Pro -> router -> iPhone

    You can probably do this, but a more normal configuration would be

    internet -> modem -> router -> Mac Pro & iPhone

    Most (non-Apple) wireless routers will also offer a number of wired connections. You can connect your Mac Pro to the router via ethernet and your iPhone to its wireless network.
     
  9. predsednic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #9
    Thank you Tallest Skil, Tommorow and BlueRevolution for your help!

    @BlueRevolution: If I follow the second scenario you proposed. would I be able to connect iPhone to Mac and use exchanging software and Apple Remote app?
     
  10. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    My iPod Touch can connect straight to next doors wireless modem, so maybe yours can too?

    EDIT: Don't worry about me, I forgot to read it properly. This wouldn't do what you wanted.
     
  11. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #11
    Absolutely. The iPhone is designed to be set up that way.
     

Share This Page