Connectivity is making me mental!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by haumana, Dec 20, 2008.

  1. haumana macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #1
    I have a MacBook Pro, just bought it in June. I've been having wireless connectivity issues. The airport will tell me that I'm connected, but if I go deeper into configuration it tells me that it could not obtain an IP address. At first I thought it was my router, but all the other wireless stuff seems to tap into the internet just fine.

    Then I noticed that if I fire up Fusion, Windows picks-up on the internet just fine, and after that so will with the Mac side. What's going on with this? It used to happen every once in a while, now it happens each and every time I shutdown and start up. :mad:

    Would I be better off assigning it a static IP? I know that I'm not the only one that has this issue, a few other friends and family members are having the same problem and we are all totally stumped.

    Anyone got any ideas? I'm running Leopard, Fusion w/Windows XP, Linksys WRT160Nv2.
     
  2. macrem macrumors 65816

    macrem

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #2
    It seems many people posting exotic issues have Windows installed. I have a pure OS X machine and have never had any issue like this.
     
  3. haumana thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #3
    Actually it started to do this and I thought having Fusion w/XP was causing the problem so I completely reformatted and reinstalled OS X. Still had the problem. At the moment, running XP in Fusion almost seems the only way to fix this - but that is not an acceptable workaround for me.
     
  4. cathyy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #4
    I see no possible explanation on how a Windows installation on a seperate partition could possibly affect OSX.
     
  5. haumana thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #5
    That's what I was thinking too. But quite honestly, opening up windows in Fusion is the only way that I can get the Mac side to wireless to work. It's such a strange thing. :(
     
  6. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #6
    have all the updates been installed for OS X?
     
  7. haumana thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
  8. macrem macrumors 65816

    macrem

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
  9. haumana thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
  10. OmahaGTP macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #10
    Do you have a hidden SSID that you type in manually?

    I've had issues with that in the past.
     
  11. haumana thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
  12. kennyli macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #12
    Same problem is happening to my PowerBook G4 too!

    I have to click the Airport icon and than select "Join Other Network". Than, input the router name, password again manually!

    Try it and see it works or not!
     
  13. ACiB708 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    #13
    Try opening you web browser, type 192.168.1.1, enter your password, go to wireless settings or alike, then to advanced, and try changing your SSID, choose WPA password, type in a custom one, chose SSID broadcasting, b,g,n available and then save the settings. Go to your router and press the little reset button. Go to your Mac and connect. That should work. If not, then I have no clue, contact Linksys or Apple.
     
  14. macrem macrumors 65816

    macrem

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #14
    I'd also try using an app like iStumbler to help set your router to a channel that's not in use by other routers.
     

Share This Page