Connects to Local network but not Internet

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by blacka4, Jan 16, 2014.

  1. blacka4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #1
    Guy, Can someone here help me. I'm stumped. I have a Mini running lion server and I can connect to my local network services and backup from my other machines to time machine but I can't access the internet from the mini server. I have deleted the preferences as suggested by a google search, that worked for about 24 hours.

    Thoughts? also I'm using ethernet to a airport then to my fios router. I have my MBP plugged into the same airport and I am able to use that as that is what I am using to post this.

    Thanks. If you would like to remote to the machine I can arrange that.
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Is it getting a valid IP address? Try to connect directly to the FIOS router and check results.
     
  3. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #3
    Yup it's a static ip due to network services. I managed to get it to work by repairing the disk. Not sure how long that is gonna last
     
  4. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #4
    well it only lasted 24 hours. I am having the same problem I was before. I was going to reinstall the OS but since I can't get to the internet I can't validate my install of lion and it won't download.

    No apple care so I can't call for help. I would install mavericks but again I can't get to the app store
     
  5. iizmoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    #5
    Try this when the intertubes stop working.

    Open up terminal, and type in

    dig macrumors.com

    You should see something like this

    If your DNS connection is working, you should see the A record resolved as above (in bold).

    If it does, then type in "ping macrumors.com" and see if your ping is going out. You should get:

    Oh, and was the static IP from your ISP to you? Or was that your Mini on the network? If it is, might wanna just set it back to DHCP while you're testing the connectivity to eliminate possible issues with the static IP assignment from the local router.
     
  6. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #6
    Connects to Local network but not Internet

    Ping doesn't work mini has a address I coded into the router for Ethernet. It never changed (182.168.1.1)

    I can't get anything I delete the network pref and ran disk util again. I'm cloning my MBP drive to the mini to see if I can get it to do something. Wonder if my Nic port could be going bad. But I can't get it to work over wifi either so I think I can rule out a bad Nic port
     
  7. iizmoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    #7
    Eh, 192.168.1.1 is usually a reserved address for the local router or some other network appliance.

    Major bad using 192.168.1.1 and 192.168.1.10 .

    Check your DHCP range, and try giving it another static ip that isn't 192.168.1.1

    I'm assuming you mistyped 192 into 182?
     
  8. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #8
    Connects to Local network but not Internet

    Yeah it's .9 not .1. The **** worked 2 days ago like clockwork. I set up vnc to be able to remote administer it and was in it today from work and now it won't work

    The IP address I had set up for the mini server was 192.168.1.9.
     
  9. iizmoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    #9
    So let recap,

    you're able to resolve DNS just fine, but not able to ping macrumors? But able to ping other computers locally?
     
  10. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #10
    I can get to all my local machines via ping and shared services. I can't ping anything. Tracert doesn't work and I can resolve DNS.
     
  11. iizmoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    #11
    Ok, so, the adapter is able to send and receiver, you're getting DNS, but your outgoing packet isn't going out.

    So, I'm thinking there's a firewall rules blocking outgoing traffic, or something is funky with your network routing table. I'm assuming of course Wireless has been turned off and we're only down to the Ethernet cable for connection here. Also assuming you've turn off the firewall already.

    Let try doing a netstat -nr in terminal, and can you paste your routing table so we can see what it look like.
     
  12. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #12
    this is what I get. I reinstalled lion and lion server and started my server apps. had it working right for about 4 or 5 hours and now it doesn't work

    here is my routing table

    Routing tables

    Internet:
    Destination Gateway Flags Refs Use Netif Expire
    default 192.168.1.1 UGSc 22 0 en0
    127 127.0.0.1 UCS 0 0 lo0
    127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 UH 2 556 lo0
    169.254 link#4 UCS 1 0 en0
    192.168.1 link#4 UCS 6 0 en0
    192.168.1.1 0:1f:90:78:15:6 UHLWIi 32 129 en0 1179
    192.168.1.4 0:16:cb:a1:2b:b7 UHLWIi 1 257 en0 1160
    192.168.1.5 d0:23:db:7a:e5:bf UHLWIi 0 61 en0 1095
    192.168.1.7 e0:db:55:df:fd:e UHLWIi 2 19 en0 1142
    192.168.1.8 0:26:bb:72:3d:a UHLWIi 0 0 en0 1050
    192.168.1.9 127.0.0.1 UHS 0 0 lo0
    192.168.1.255 ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff UHLWbI 0 11 en0

    Internet6:
    Destination Gateway Flags Netif Expire
    ::1 link#1 UHL lo0
    fd00:6587:52d7::/48 fd00:6587:52d7:425:225:4bff:feac:91e0 UGCS utun0
    fd00:6587:52d7:425::/64 fe80::225:4bff:feac:91e0%utun0 Uc utun0
    fd00:6587:52d7:425:225:4bff:feac:91e0 link#7 UHL lo0
    fd42:fb58:33b5:bdab:225:4bff:feac:91e0 link#1 UHL lo0
    fe80::%lo0/64 fe80::1%lo0 UcI lo0
    fe80::1%lo0 link#1 UHLI lo0
    fe80::%en0/64 link#4 UCI en0
    fe80::216:cbff:fea1:2bb7%en0 0:16:cb:a1:2b:b7 UHLWIi en0
    fe80::225:ff:fef6:893%en0 0:25:0:f6:8:93 UHLWIi en0
    fe80::225:4bff:feac:91e0%en0 0:25:4b:ac:91:e0 UHLI lo0
    fe80::226:bbff:fe72:3d0a%en0 0:26:bb:72:3d:a UHLWIi en0
    fe80::%en1/64 link#5 UCI en1
    fe80::225:4bff:feac:91e0%en1 0:25:4b:ac:91:e0 UHLWIi en1
    fe80::226:bbff:fe72:3d0a%en1 0:26:bb:72:3d:a UHLWIi en1
    fe80::%utun0/64 fe80::225:4bff:feac:91e0%utun0 UcI utun0
    fe80::225:4bff:feac:91e0%utun0 link#7 UHLI lo0
    ff01::%lo0/32 fe80::1%lo0 UmCI lo0
    ff01::%en0/32 link#4 UmCI en0
    ff01::%en1/32 link#5 UmCI en1
    ff01::%utun0/32 fe80::225:4bff:feac:91e0%utun0 UmCI utun0
    ff02::%lo0/32 fe80::1%lo0 UmCI lo0
    ff02::%en0/32 link#4 UmCI en0
    ff02::fb%en0 link#4 UHmW3I en0 3439
    ff02::%en1/32 link#5 UmCI en1
    ff02::fb%en1 link#5 UHmW3I en1 3439
    ff02::%utun0/32 fe80::225:4bff:feac:91e0%utun0 UmCI utun0
    server:~ admin$
     
  13. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #13
    Are you running the DNS service on this computer? It sounds like you do, and that it's not configured properly.
    What services are you running on the server?
     
  14. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #14
    only services running on the server are file server and time machine.

    Not running DNS or DHCP
     
  15. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #15
    If the address you have in there is 182.168.1.1, that is your problem. It should be 192.168.1.1.
     
  16. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #16
    i keyed that wrong from my phone its 192.168.1.9.

    I reinstalled apple server tools and found DNS running. I turned it off. Thank you for that suggestion. I didn't think it was running as I don't remember setting it up. weird.
     
  17. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #17
    So did that solve the problem?
     
  18. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #18
    i don't know we will see. i am going to let it sit for a few hours and see. I think it might.

    I would like to know how DNS got started when I didn't tell it too.

    thanks
     
  19. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #19
    It's been a while since I've used Lion Server, but it probably automatically configures DNS when you go through the setup to enable services.
    Also be sure to check in the DNS configuration in System Preferences to be sure it's not pointed to 127.0.0.1.
     
  20. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #20
    it was that is what got me thinking that DNS was turned on.
     
  21. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #21
    NEW PROBLEM!!!

    what can I do to prevent my host names from being changed and DNS service starting this seems to be the root of my problem
     
  22. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #22
    Problem Resolved,

    I just wanted to thank you guys for your help. I appreciate it.
     

Share This Page