Consecutive posts

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by BookMan1979, Jul 1, 2011.

  1. BookMan1979 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    First, I am new to this website and so it will take a little getting used to. If this bothers people, don't come down on me for inexperience.

    Second, when people mention "consecutive posts" does that mean that I can only reply to someone once?

    Cause one of the things I do on another forum, which is something that they allow, is to reply to one person... then reply to another... and leave an original comment of my own.

    If that is against the rules, please tell me now.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    You can use multiquote to respond to multiple posts in a thread, or edit your existing post.
     
  3. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #3
    They frown on posting one post after another when you could just edit the previous post. However, this is okay if “sufficient” time has transpired, such that the new post might get people’s attention that you responded.
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    Multiquote or Edit a post

    To quote several posts, use the [​IMG] button (multi-quote).

    To edit your posts, use the [​IMG] button.

    All these buttons are on the bottom right of the posts.
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    But "bumping" isn't something that's allowed on here.
     
  6. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #6
    Exactly. I wasn’t referring to bumping.

     
  7. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #7
    Yes it's against the rules, and I would know, I got a Warning a few weeks ago about this exact thing.
     

Share This Page