Considering 13" Macbook Pro, help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Fouracre44, May 27, 2013.

1. Fouracre44 macrumors regular

Hi guys,

I'll try and keep it short. I'm moving into a new house and am getting a new computer, my old computer has had it. I used to do a bit of gaming on it and just really put it through it's paces. Now I'm looking for something a bit different.

Originally, when I was going to buy a computer, I was considering an imac, mainly for it's excellent screen size which interests me, however. I realized that between work and spending time with my girlfriend and family I'm not on the computer a whole lot. I don't really have a fleeting need to spend $2000 - $3000 on an imac when the performance won't be needed.

Now my question, is the Macbook Pro 13" Retina fast, with it's dual core CPU, I apologise if that sounds ignorant as I know many applications don't utilise all the cpu's cores. However I have no experience with it and was just wondering. I don't do any gaming on my computer now, I have found that I prefer console gaming and am currently awaiting the playstation 4 so I don't need any gaming performance, but I will be doing some music production and my girlfriend is into photography. Another thing that appeals to me is the size, although I don't move my laptop out of my house, I certainly move it around the house, and would do so more once I get better internet.

I'm thinking that I will get the one with the flash storage, and then keep it hooked up to an external drive. But I wanted to know if this was worth a purchase, powerful enough for a descent computing experience with room to explore things later on like Music Production, some photo stuff etc...

Thanks guys

2. Augustine864 macrumors regular

I'm in the midst of making this decision as well. the 13" vs 15" rMBP. I'm making it very difficult for myself.