Considering a MacBook. Am I ready?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by milani, Aug 17, 2008.

1. milani macrumors 68000

milani

Well after a long time I'm considering making the switch (from Windows to OS X, that is) - at least for a notebook. I've had some experience with a hacked version of OS X I installed on an old Sony VAIO computer, and I've had past experience with the official operating system as well, although I will admit I don't know everything about it.

That being said, I'm considering buying a MacBook for school (and for entertainment on the side, I suppose). Foremost I'm a Windows guy, but Vista pisses me off to no end, and I'm generally getting tired of the Windows experience (I've been enduring OS after OS since 3.1x). My Windows Dell will certainly remain my workhorse: I'm a web developer, avid Photoshop user, etc, so my quad core is obviously going to be where I do that sort of thing.

The bulk of stuff I would be using the MacBook for (in terms of school) would be typing essays (I'll buy the Mac version of Office), email/calendar/organizational stuff over MobileMe, doing research on the internet, and maybe making presentations with either PowerPoint or Keynotes.

However, I'm beginning to think that for school it would make more sense to have a laptop that I don't have to constantly mess around with, where I can just get my work done without having to constantly babysit the OS (which I would not want to on a small screen/on a trackpad.

Also, I've been looking into developing web apps for my iPhone, and I'd like to take that to the next level by using the SDK, which is another reason I'd like to make the switch to Leopard.