Considering a MBP - Opinions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Niko03, Jul 13, 2010.

1. Niko03 macrumors regular

Aug 4, 2008
    Hi all you MBP users.

I'm relatively new to Mac's. I've been through 3 27" i7 iMacs and each had the dreaded yellow screen issue. I finally got a 21.5" C2D 3.06 iMac and while the issue is much less it still has some issues with yellowing and I feel like I've compromised the high end processor - 2.8ghz quad core - and screen size and still have the same problem.

While I really liked the All-in One concept, the screen issues really bothered me, that leaves me with a Mac Mini or the MBP's as options. I guess I wouldn't mind the portability, So I'm thinking of taking it back and getting a 15" or 17" MBP probably with the 2.66 (i7 I believe). I do light photo work, perhaps going to Aperture, and some light family video work besides the general e-mail and surfing etc.

So questions.

Are the screens all good on the 15 and 17 MBP's?

I like the quietness of the iMac's how would the current crop of MBP's measure up?

Any heat related issue's with the current MBP's?

With my basic uses how would the stated MBP's serve me?

Anyone else use a MBP as basically a desktop?

Any concerns with killing the battery capacity with use patterns, ie. generally plugged in?

Thanks in advance for your input!
  2. MrFlynn macrumors member

Jul 13, 2010
    I would begin by searching Google for "Macbook Pro 2010 review" and read all the articles out there.