Considering a PowerMac...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by nicdic, Oct 1, 2008.

1. nicdic macrumors newbie

Hi there.

I'm after any advice people can give me. I'm after getting a desktop to use primarily for use with Logic Studio. I have a MacBook, which is great for portable recording, but any editing and processing kills it. I'm a student and thus don't have a fortune to spend, but have been looking at second hand and refurbished G5 PowerMacs, the second hand MacPros are still unfortunately out of my price range. I think my two real options are the G5 PowerMac, or an iMac.

I've had a look around, and www.scrumpymacs.co.uk seems like a decent place for buying a second hand one but any help would be brilliant.

Thanks in advance.

2. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

brn2ski00

Won't a mid to high range Aluminum iMac be perfect for your needs?

3. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

Bengt77

This is a no-brainer, really. Go for an iMac. They're plenty powerful. The 3 GHz 24" iMac is way more powerful than the fastest G5 PowerMac ever was.

4. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

brn2ski00

Yeah, and buy a refurbed one at that.... save you some bucks :D

5. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

Bengt77

+1

6. nicdic thread starter macrumors newbie

A refurbished 2.8GHz iMac is £1,149, which is definitely out of my price range :(

7. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

brn2ski00

what is your price range?

8. allmIne macrumors 6502a

allmIne

If he's going by this page then I think his price range is in and around 550 - 650, ish. I must admit, they're still an awful lot of computer for the money, and you're not paying for a screen.

9. netdog macrumors 603

netdog

Seriously, what about a Mini then? A 2.0 C2D is £499, and upping it to 4GB of RAM won't cost much.

I've got to believe that this will smoke an old G5 and will have a much longer future ahead of it.

There is no way that Logic Studio would tax a Mini. Audio just isn't that challenging.

10. nicdic thread starter macrumors newbie