Considering a prev gen 21.5" - Will this work?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by xheathen, May 30, 2011.

1. xheathen macrumors 6502

Hi all,

Not too long ago I ended up just upgrading my Windows box a new Sandy Bridge platform, and honestly I'm having buyers remorse like crazy. I was planning on trying to get a mac mini and the update really is just dragging on. So I pulled the trigger on an upgraded Windows machine and really just regret it.

I'm back to trying to switch from Windows to Mac. To save some money I was considering going with a refurb 21.5" previous generation i3.

I'm a freelance designer that does a lot of print graphics and web development stuff, so I'll be using Coda + Photoshop, Illustrator and Indesign. Add in browsers, iTunes and other lighter programs and the occasional game and that sums up my computer usage.

Can that iMac handle it? Or am I going to be dying for some more speed? Or maybe I should wait for the current generation iMac to come up as a refurb? Or maybe try and find one on ebay w/ applecare? I'm just trying to be very budget conscious because I don't have a ton to spend, and I have to buy new software with it as well (Upgrade to CS5 from my current CS4 just to use it).

Any ideas are super helpful :)

2. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

iSayuSay

Why the regret? Aint your pc use a quite up-to-date hardware? Is it because of windows or what? Well i'd say go with base 21.5" iMac 2011. It's a real powerhouse on a reasonable price. Performance difference between stock iMacs is quite small, unless u upgrade to i7, all i5 used on current iMac is quite similar.

3. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013

Yes, a previous gen i3 would handle that fine.

4. aniketroxx macrumors member

aniketroxx

5. xheathen thread starter macrumors 6502