Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

onthecouchagain

macrumors 604
Original poster
Mar 29, 2011
I'm considering a tablet, and not necessarily an iPad, but for obvious reasons, the iPad 2 is the front runner. Amazon's Fire has peaked my interest also.

But I'm mostly wondering if I'll benefit from a tablet at all. For those that own a laptop as well, do you find yourself using the laptop far less? I know it's unrealistic to think a tablet will fully replace a laptop, but I'm just asking do you guys/gals find yourself picking up the laptop far less when going out or traveling, etc? I also use it a lot for browsing the web, checking email/facebook, forums, etc., which I think will be easier to do with a tablet and a touch screen in terms of when on the go.

I am a writer, and I think I'll always benefit from having a full sized physical keyboard at the tip of my hands (I currently own a Air), but I'm also starting to feel it's a bit cumbersome to carry around with me, especially when tablets are getting smaller/lighter, and more convenient. Besides the physical keys, it can do virtually everything my Air can. This makes me feel the Air is far less necessary.

Anyway, I'd love to hear imput. This is my first time on the iPad forums. Appreciate it.

Macman45

macrumors G5
Jul 29, 2011
Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Laptop V Pad

I'm considering a tablet, and not necessarily an iPad, but for obvious reasons, the iPad 2 is the front runner. Amazon's Fire has peaked my interest also.