Considering Mac Mini for HT setup, need to know if channels are available

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by PaperMacWriter, Apr 23, 2009.

  1. PaperMacWriter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #1
    I am considering a Mac Mini for a HT setup, but a need certain channels for it to be considerable. I know that I would still get all the main networks with a EyeTV 250+, but I would be missing several channels: Discovery Channel, Nickelodeon, Fox Soccer Channel, and GOL TV. These are the only ones I would be missing, and the FSC is a must. I would need it to have live games and recordings of them. If there is a monthly fee, thats fine, as long as I get FSC.

    I am specifically considering getting a Mini as my main (temp) machine. Then, when MBP w/ Arrandale become available refurbished, the mini will retire to the TV room. Seem like a good idea? The model I'm eying is the 120GB HDD with customized 2GB of RAM. I'd get an external at 7200rpm if it goes to the TV room though. Thanks!
    SG :apple:
     
  2. PaperMacWriter thread starter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #2
    Forgot to add that its a tube tv with only a analogue cable wire connecter and a WhiteYellowRed connecter. Will the 2009 Mini work with this? If not, how would a last-gen 2.0GHz do?
    SG :apple:
     
  3. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #3
    The Mini has nothing to do with what channels will be available. This is your cable provider's deal... The EyeTV 250+ can take analog channels in so if get 'reception' to the channel on the TV, then you'll get 'reception' on the mini (through the EyeTV).

    I'm not sure why you think you might lose channels going with a Mini and EyeTV... The only case would be if you have a cable box and can't get the channels clear over the wire (or QAM for digital channels).

    To output video to an older (i.e., no HDMI/DVI port) TV you'll need to buy a DVI to Video cable for $19 (or 3rd party for cheaper).

    Edit: From your spelling and quotes it dawned on me you are probably in the UK. I'm not totally sure of how TV is broadcast there, so take my advice with a grain of Yankee salt.
     
  4. PaperMacWriter thread starter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #4
    I am talking about cutting cable. The only channels I watch are the main networks, stuff on Hulu, and the ones I listed. Know if there's any way to get them? Preferably something I could control through Front Row, Boxee, or Plex?
    Oh, and I'm a yankee too, just have bad spelling:p
    SG :apple:
     
  5. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #5
    Use Plex.

    You can get Discovery Channel programming on iTunes - if you don't mind paying per episode.

    You may want to consider Netflix and get streaming for some of your stuff. I understand that Netflix may add another plan where you get streaming only, no DVD's delivered.
     
  6. snowmoon macrumors 6502a

    snowmoon

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #6
    Depending on where you live there is probably an eyeTV product that would do the job for getting the OTA stations. If you live anywhere close to an American city a HDhomerun should be able to receive all the major networks in digital and/or HDTV.

    If/when I move up to a Mac Mini HTPC that's what I would use to watch/record major networks.
     
  7. PaperMacWriter thread starter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #7
    I can currently get all the major networks without running a cable through my Comcast box, so OTA stations are unnessasary. I would still get an EyeTV though, so I could record what I do get, and intergrate my Wii. Would OTA be higher quality than from a wire? Sorry I don't know much, I haven't tried HT before.
    SG :apple:
     
  8. snowmoon macrumors 6502a

    snowmoon

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #8
    You said you were dropping cable so I'm confused.
     
  9. Tilpots macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #9
    Yes. But don't take my word for it. Unplug the cable and watch the OTA signal. You should notice a difference. Cable and Satellite companies greatly compress signals. Local OTA providers may compress slightly (depending on the amount of signals they broadcast, i.e. subchannels), but it's nowhere near what the Cable or Satellite guys do. Let us know what you observe...
     
  10. PaperMacWriter thread starter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #10
    I said I was thinking of dropping cable, but I haven't done that. I just took the comcast box out of the setup to see what chanels I got. Quite a dece t selection, albeit a not-so-stunning quality. And I don't have an EyeTV product to get over the air (yet). So I'll stick to cane till I know I won't lose any channels.
    SG :apple:
     
  11. Tilpots macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #11
    Your quality should improve by watching OTA, not drop. Unless of course you were watching analog and not digital signals. Have any stations in your market made the switch yet? If so, make sure you have the right antenna and a convertor box, then try it...
     
  12. PaperMacWriter thread starter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #12
    I know they switched to digital, my analog tv doesn't get signals without the wire(analog wire?). I don't really want to go out and buy a converter box, but I could check at radio shack what channels the demonstrating tv gets. I should get a fair few though:p
    SG :apple:
     

Share This Page