Considering switching from PC to Mac, but have questions

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by medgirl2001, Apr 25, 2009.

1. medgirl2001 macrumors regular

I am a long time PC user who never, ever thought I would be swayed to a Mac. Then I got my iPhone, and have started to be lured to the Apple way of doing things. I'm a bit of a tech nerd, and was used to doing all kinds of tinkering with my Windows Mobile phone, registry hacking, etc. With the iPhone, it actually can't do everything my WinMo phone does, but what it does it does so well that it is really enjoyable to use. And it really was a pleasure _not_ to have to do all that tinkering to get it working the way I wanted it to. Somehow I was lured by the Apple magic to decide that the things I thought I couldn't do without, I could do without just fine. Now I am in the market for a new laptop, and I thought that for the first time maybe I should consider a Mac.

My big reservations are price (can get a Dell with equivalent or more advanced hardware for a lot less), but also whether or not I can find solutions/workarounds for a few things. These are my issues:

1. I use Hotmail. I don't want to switch. I don't want to use POP. I don't want to forward it to Gmail or anything else. I currently use Outlook Express using the http protocol, and I am very happy with that. mBox Mail on my iPhone solved my mail problem on the iPhone, and I love that (I actually prefer it to the native Mail app on the iPhone). Is there a solution for using Hotmail through a real email client (not web) on a Mac?
    2. I will need to use some Word/Excel/Power Point documents, though nothing too intense. Would I just need to get Office for Mac to do that? Do I even need Office? Can I read/edit those files with whatever the Mac alternative is?