Considering: to buy or not to buy

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Nefrit, Nov 21, 2008.

1. Nefrit macrumors newbie

Nefrit

Hi!

I am just thinking if to buy iPhone or Asus MyPal A639. IPhone seems to have all the advantages, and it must be strange that such question has risen in my mind, but I ask it because of the high price of the iPhone, it's 800$ in my city (does it cost the same in yours?). And before buying such an expensive toy I'd like to consult those who have already bought it)))))

I looked through the forum and saw that there are a lot of people who are not happy with it, is safari really so annoying? And is it convenient to type on the iPhone, edit Excel documents? is it possible to read pdf, djvu, txt, html on it? Is there much soft on it, such programs as MathCAD (I really need it cause I'm a student))) Borland C?

Excuse me for my mistakes - English is not my native language.

I would be very grateful to you if you answered my numerous questions :)

2. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68030

I must admit, $800 is a little steep. You'll find an enormous amount of complainers on this forum, but the majority of iPhone owners are very pleased with the device.

I'm not sure on some of the attachments that you asked about -- I'll have to defer to someone else.

3. sammich macrumors 601

sammich

In Australia, it is about $800 to buy it unlocked/not on a post pay plan.

There are problems, Safari will occasionally crash (possibly less now with the 2.2 update released today). You cannot edit any sort of document.

And, the iPhone is a *phone*. You can't just install ordinary desktop programs onto it. So MathCAD, Borland C is a no no (unless someone makes the app for it, then you will need to pay again).

And you can view just about any of the mainstream file formats, ms .doc, .xls, ppt, pdf, jpg, png, txt, html (I don't know what djvu is).

4. Nefrit thread starter macrumors newbie

Nefrit