Considering Upgrading from Macbook to Macbook Pro - looking for input

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Heart Break Kid, Feb 15, 2009.

1. Heart Break Kid macrumors 6502a

Hi folks,

After searching the forums and finding one other thread from someone who made a similar move, I thought I'd ask here for some advice and input. I'm currently a medical student using a white Macbook 1,1. It's a 2.0 GHZ with 2GB ram (maxed out). The machine has served me very well, and outside a little incident regarding my wrist rest area discoloring (which Apple took care of), I have been incredibly satisfied with the purchase.

I will soon be in the market for a new laptop, and am looking for one that will last me for at least 3 to 4 years or well into my residency. I'm not sure what specific medical applciations I will be running, but I'd like to have a machine that will be able to run a process intensive application or two if need be. Currently I'm using my computer for the basic web surfing, video watching, occasional gaming (World of Warcraft), photo management and the occasional editing of a home movie.

For those who have made or know a friend of a friend who had made a similar move, what did your or that third party think? What can I expect in terms of responsiveness compared to the machine I'm using now? What are the things you were instantly amazed by and what things do you wish you had known prior to the purchase? In terms of "weight", how much of a difference did moving to a 15" model make on your backpack / briefcase / totebag etc?

Prior to the white macbook I had a rev A 17" powerbook G4. It was the first 17" model, and that machine was with me for the 4 years I was in college. Can I expect a similar life with the new Macbook Pro?

Thank you in advance for any insights you can offer!

2. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

SFStateStudent