consolidating all my photo files

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by jlirot, Mar 10, 2013.

1. jlirot macrumors newbie

not sure if this is the correct forum. mods feel free to move if appropriate.

just got a mac mini (mid 2010 - installed a 1TB HD, running 10.6.8, and using TM for back up - will soon subscribe to a cloud back up service as well). i have been transferring data from all my old systems and need to start cleaning things up. Basically just dragged and dropped tons of data and now want to clean it up and put it all in it's proper place.

i've moved things from iphone, cameras, old HD's, etc etc.

what i want to do now is move all of my photo and video files into one or two folders so i know where they reside and everything isn't so messy. i do the same with my music files - i have a big master file and anything i add, at minimum goes into a subfile of that master file.

a problem i have is that i moved some stuff over from another mac and from my iphone. i basically dragged and dropped several iphoto libraries. what i want to do now is grab the files and dump them into one file - and recreate a new library. i may migrate to another photo manager (considering ACDSee). regardless, i don't want 100 different photo libraries that reside all over the place with all kinds of extraneous junk attached to them.

now, in one iphoto library i have 2 other iphoto libraries and a bunch of other junk that i don't even know what it is. and that's just one of the files i transferred.

can someone help me find all the data so i can put it into one nice clean file? i started importing new photos using image capture and that seems to keep everything where i want it (in one file - pictures). i'm fine with iphoto creating a library and all that stuff - i just want to put everything in one spot - and know where it is. right now, i don't know where to find that data in 'ilibraries' that i have a hard time opening.