iPad Constant Safari webpage reloads on iPad Air

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Moses, Feb 1, 2015.

  1. Moses macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #1
    Is it just me or has the reloading issue with Safari gotten worse with recent updates?

    It seems I can't have two tabs open without needing to wait for a page reload when switching between them. Defeats the purpose of tabs.

    Is this issue mitigated on the iPad Air 2, with the extra RAM?

    It's driving me a little batty to be honest...
     
  2. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #3
    It's the same on my iPad air.

    Try Chrome Browser.

    Atomic Browser is good although I think it's been abandoned by the developer.
     
  3. Americasteam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    #4
    Air 2 is a dream to use. Hated the reloading on the Air. I ended up selling mine.
     
  4. Count Blah macrumors 68030

    Count Blah

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    US of A
    #5
    How can that be when the fanbois where telling us that ram wasn't the issue with the refreshes on the air 1?
     
  5. Mivo macrumors regular

    Mivo

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    Yes.

    Try Chrome and see if it helps at all?
     
  6. cababah macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #7
    A different browser isn't going to magically fix a hardware limitation.
     
  7. Mivo macrumors regular

    Mivo

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Different apps have different memory requirements, and different browsers use different methods of rendering and caching content, which may result in more or less memory usage. Chrome is free, so no reason why he can't try it and see if it helps a little. It'll either be the same, worse, or a bit better. :)
     
  8. Count Blah macrumors 68030

    Count Blah

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    US of A
    #9
    Does chrome use WebKit? If so, then it will not be much different.
     

Share This Page