Constantly loosing windows - Too much open on screen

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by shippouk, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. shippouk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #1
    Hi there
    Does anyone have any tips for using the Mac as I have to have about 8 programs running at once on my mac and i'm always loosing them behind other running programs (when looking at the desktop).
    Sometimes it takes me 7 or 8 clicks to find the one I need.
    Thanks
    Shippo (newbie)
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Use Exposé. I set up a hot corner for that, so a simple move of the mouse shows all open windows.

    System Preferences > Exposé & Spaces > Exposé
    Picture 2.jpg
     
  3. shippouk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #3
    Hi
    Could you advise HOW (step by step) you did that please and what the outcome looks like?
    thanks
    Shippo
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    You have Expose button in your Mac, it's the F3.
     
  5. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #5
    Expose is super cool.

    Press F3, or on laptops swipe down with four fingers, and all the windows open will arrange themselves in a grid. Simply click on one and it will pop open to the front.
     
  6. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #6
    I'd advise using Spaces.
    System Preferences > Exposé & Spaces > Spaces
    (same place as image in post #2, separate "tab")

    Spaces gives you 4 "virtual desktops" by default, but you can have 2, 6, 9 etc.

    You can assign applications to their own spaces, eliminating overlapping altogether if you want.

    Go to Help > Mac Help
    Click on Index and then Spaces
    Read up on it.
     

Share This Page