Contact Groups

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by question fear, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. question fear macrumors 68020

    question fear

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    The "Garden" state
    #1
    When did they add contact groups in on the phone? If it's always been there I totally did not notice, but this will certainly help alleviate the lack of search in contacts...
     
  2. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #2
    Its always been there. You do it through adress book i believe.
     
  3. Amblinman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #3
    I don't see how to create contact groups at all. What am I missing?
     
  4. CADer macrumors 6502

    CADer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #4
    Funny, cause about 20 mins. ago I started thinking that I didn't want to add all these new numbers like family I rarely talk to and some coworkers. But then I thought hey If there was a way to group them so i did not have to scroll through them all every time I look for someone number that would be cool!!!

    But like the last guy I didn't see how to do that and can only assume you must set it up on the Mac in Address Book? Don't quote me on that yet! I have to get home to the Mac first.
     
  5. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #5
    In Address Book, make a new group like you would make one in itunes or anything else, drag numbers or whatever into there, and tell it to sync with that group in itunes.
     
  6. jt2ga65 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #6
    This is Mac only? I'm not sure how you would do this on a PC, or on the phone itself.

    -jt2
     
  7. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
  8. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #8
    Im sure it works the same on a PC, whatever your syncing up with should have a way of making different groups, and you just tell itunes to sync with those groups. As far as im aware you cant do it on the iphone.
     
  9. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #9
    Oh, i use the application "address book" I dont know how it would work otherwise...
     
  10. jt2ga65 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #10
    Makes sense. While I see the "selected groups" radio item for contacts in iTunes, it does not seem to be an option with MS Outlook, and I don't have the Yahoo application.

    Maybe if I get a Mac I'll revisit this.

    -jt2
     
  11. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #11
    Well i for one wont ever urge you not to get a mac :D
     
  12. jt2ga65 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #12
    Ah... I should have said "new Mac". I have an old G4, which is almost painful, and I have a bastardized Dell laptop running OS X when I don't have to use it for work (just because I "could"). I want a new PowerBook, but just can't justify it, as my current laptop is only a couple years old, and already 2 GHz and doing most of what I need.

    I wonder if Jaguar will be released to run on non-Apple hardware officially. It's rumored, but I just don't see Apple ever doing that.

    I've got to wait until October anyways, so I'll just wait until Jag is released, and see what hardware options there are.

    Too bad you can't sync iTunes with Thunderbird.

    -jt2
     

Share This Page