contact no. doesn't link to name

Discussion in 'iOS 11' started by jpma, Jul 18, 2017.

  1. jpma macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #1
    All the phone called I receive doesn't link to the name of my contact list anymore.
    So as messages, it doesn't display the person's name instead it just show the no. of the person.

    Anybody have this issue with iOS11 B2?
     
  2. jrodmonaco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
  3. MozMan68 macrumors 68000

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #3
    I'm having this issue...but not with all numbers. And the weird thing is that the "profile photo" still shows the initials of the contact even though the name isn't in the contact anymore.
     
  4. jpma thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #4
    I'm on 15A5318g, not sure is this b3 or b2.
     
  5. jrodmonaco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    #5
    Yep, same as I have.
     
  6. Erdbeertorte macrumors demi-goddess

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #6
    I still don't understand the difference of the contacts section in the Phone app and the Contacts app, in the latter I have always more and they also show up while typing a number, name, email address or whatever in Phone or Messages, even if the Contacts app is deleted.

    Edit: Not really iOS 11 related. It has been like that since "forever".
     
  7. jrodmonaco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    #7
    OP, if you enabled iCloud Message sync, try disabling it and enabling it again.
     
  8. jhfenton macrumors 6502a

    jhfenton

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #8
    I ran into the disappearing names problem yesterday on iOS 11 DP3 (iPhone 7), but the names reappeared after I poked around in Contacts and Phone for a minute.
     
  9. jpma thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #9
    Didn't seem to solve it. Hopefully the next beta will be ok.
    How can I tell if I'm on b2 or b3 since I'm using the public beta.
     
  10. MozMan68 macrumors 68000

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #10
    Public Beta 2 is developer beta 3...
     
  11. pesos macrumors 6502a

    pesos

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    #11
    So I loaded the ios11 GM and now my messages app doesn't show any names - except for my wife oddly enough. All the names still show in contacts and in my recent phone calls. Reboot didn't fix.
     
  12. SeaKayJay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    #12
    I just updated my iPhone6s to iOS11. I'm facing a similar issue. Right now, all incoming calls are showing numbers only without showing contact name.

    Anyone has a fix for this yet? I'm still searching for a solution on the internet. Still can't find it yet.
     
  13. MozMan68 macrumors 68000

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #13
    Hard restart??
     
  14. SeaKayJay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    #14
    You meant by holding both power and home buttons? I tried that already.

    I have even reset all the phone settings.

    I even did a phone backup restore. Too bad my 10.3.3 backup has been overwritten by my 11.0 backup.

    I'm trying to avoid to do a factory reset and content erase.
     
  15. MozMan68 macrumors 68000

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #15
    Mine fixed itself fortunately after one of the early betas...but didn’t seem to be as prevalent an issue as some are experiencing.
     
  16. hideous cheese macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    #16
    I'm having this problem on my iPad but not iPhone
     
  17. jhfenton macrumors 6502a

    jhfenton

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #17
    Same for me. I had the problem in one of the early betas, but I haven't seen it since. It sounds like the OP has tried the logical trouble-shooting steps, so I don't know what else to suggest.
     
  18. hideous cheese macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    #18
    Ok, figured out why I had a problem. Phone numbers formated as local i.e. 07876 did not link to the name, but those formatted as +7876 do link correctly.
     
  19. SeaKayJay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    #19
    After further investigation, I realised that a few of my friends are experiencing the same issue after updating to iOS11.

    It keeps stating that the call is from Brazil when my country is Brunei. I suspect Apple selected wrongly for our country code (in a country dropdown list Brazil comes right before Brunei). A human error?

    How can I make a report to Apple for this issue?
     

Share This Page