Contacts Sync Issue/MobileMe/Itunes/Contacts App

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iWoz, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. iWoz macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #1
    Hi Guys

    Well I wasnt sure which category this should go under, But im hoping someone can help.

    Just goy my 3GS today and restored it using my backup from my 3G

    Now for some reason I accidentally screwed up the syncing with Mobileme

    I have all my contacts on my phone, and none in the address book application on my mac, and none in my mobileme web contacts list, Anyone know how to copy these all across from Iphone to Address book?
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    Just back them up to Address Book on your Mac.
     
  3. iWoz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #3
    Sorry Im new to the apple world, Baby steps required please?
     
  4. abijnk macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    EDIT: Actually, do what iphone.aggie posted below. Its "safer."
     
  5. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #5
  6. iWoz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #6
    Just tried that and nothing happened :confused:

    I have 3 contacts currently in my address book, and still all my contacts on Iphone
     
  7. abijnk macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    See my edited post. ;)
     
  8. iWoz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #8
    I lie, mobileme sync on the mac just popped asking me if i want to update, which I did now they're all there in my address book phew.

    So should I have the address book and calender ticked in Itunes sync options? If im using mobileme.
     
  9. iWoz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
  10. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #10
    Are you now Syncing your iPhone via iTunes by connecting the iPhone to your computer? If so, are you planning to switch to OTA (over the air) Sync with MobileMe? If MobileMe then you don't want to do any syncing via ITunes. If MobileMe then you want to Sync your Mac with MobileMe Cloud Servers and then add MobileMe to your iPhone and Sync it with MobilleMe.
     
  11. abijnk macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    Like ^^^ said, if you want to just sync with MobileMe OTA then just make sure you have the settings on. In this case you would then be alright to uncheck that box.
     
  12. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #12
    Once you went the MM route, you'll need Abi's help, since I'm too cheap for Mobile Me. I'm sure she'll be back. She's very helpful.

    edit: I guess she ^^^ was typing as I was.
     
  13. iWoz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #13
    firstly thanks for the help guys I know this is a silly little thing.

    But yes i want to use mobileme to sync with my phone and ical and address book on my mac

    So basically if i change a contact or add a date in the diary, want it pushed automatically to the mac ical and address book aswell as my account at me.com

    So does this mean I need to uncheck the sync in itunes for address book and calendars?
     

Share This Page