Contain site in a width wrapper?

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Definity, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. Definity macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hey guys,

    Just a suggestion because this site looks really wide and stretched on my display...

    Any chance of containing it to a specific max-width, e.g. 1024px or something reasonable?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

    iJohnHenry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    On tenterhooks
  3. Definity thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  4. kabunaru Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #4
    That's pretty wide. What monitor do you have?
     
  5. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #5
    Seems like just about any site would look strange (or have a lot of whitespace if it did have a width constraint) at 3200 pixels. Why not run your browser at less than full screen size?
     
  6. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #6
    It would be far more reasonable for you to make your browser window narrower. It's best the way it is now.

    --Eric
     
  7. Definity thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    I've just dugg out a very inferior 21" and am working on a dual display instead. Doesn't seem toooo bad on 1600 x 1200. At least I can watch Top Gear on the other one.

    And, I can't stand restored windows. Personal thing. But still I seriously think it'd be a good idea to constrain it a little bit.
     

Share This Page