Continue Mac Pro Classic alongside the new Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by zephonic, Jul 31, 2013.

  1. zephonic macrumors 65816

    zephonic

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    greater L.A. area
    #1
    Would that be a viable scenario? They did it with the iPod. I wonder if there would be sufficient interest from the users to sustain both lines.
     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    Nope, the Mac-ina-Can would languish unsold.

    Apple believes in stacking the deck, and they learned from The Cube.

    When people had a choice between limited upgrades at higher cost but "cool looking" or useful and upgradeable but heavy, they went with.....

    So, no choice means Mac-ina-Can has better odds.
     
  3. tuxon86 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    #3
    The cube was still better than the " lamp" mac, the one that couldn't hold the weight of it's screen over time...
     
  4. MacMadness macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    #4
    Not sure what you mean by that...
    My 20 inch "lamp" has been happily purring along for 10 years
    (with 2GB of ram) and currently serving useful duty as a music server.

    Hasn't fallen over yet...:D

    As far as MP's I'm keeping my 2009 and 2010 in service as long as possible,

    Love the idea of MP classic, but unfortunately it will never happen.
    Jury's still out on the "mac in a can" but I'll wait year or two after it's out to see if it's a worthy replacement.....
     
  5. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #5
    They do have the MBP and the MBP Retina...just sayin...
     
  6. tomvos macrumors 6502

    tomvos

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    In the Nexus.
    #6
  7. zephonic thread starter macrumors 65816

    zephonic

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    greater L.A. area
    #7
    Yeah, I did not mean in the strictest sense of the word, more like JesterJJZ said. Conceivably with Sandy/Ivy Xeons but maintaining the current form factor for those who favor a traditional workstation.

    Just thinking out loud here. :)
     
  8. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #8
    Would be a dream, but I doubt it...
     
  9. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
  10. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #10
    I'll take dual processors, pci slots and internal storage space over thunderbolt any day.
     
  11. tamvly macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #11
    Please don't forget USB 3.
     
  12. mcfx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #12
    Basically, Apple is telling its power-hungry users to go build a powerful PC workstation for intensive workload. Same thing they did with the XServe series so Apple is slowly stepping out of the workstation/server market.
     
  13. tuxon86 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    #13
    Yep seems like it. Either that or the built this thing for a very specific market or client.
     
  14. ActionableMango, Aug 1, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2013

    ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #14
    All we need is a new motherboard

    1) Find a low volume motherboard maker with an existing ATX Ivy Bridge motherboard that needs business.
    2) Describe a layout change from ATX to Mac Pro. (Board needs to be split into two, holes and slots need to line up, use existing power, add traces for GPU power rated for 2x8-pin, components need to be OSX/hackintosh friendly, etc.)
    3) Get a quote for the layout design work and different quantities of runs.
    4) Launch Kickstarter campaign to see if there is enough interest and to fund the project if there is.
    5) If Kickstarter succeeds, we all upgrade our existing MP cases.

    Or, more likely:
    4.5) Apple flings lawsuits at everyone involved.
     
  15. tuxon86 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    #15
    You forgot:

    6) ???
    7) Profit!
     
  16. applegeek897 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #16
    I wish they did this but is very unlikely to happen.

    Because of this when I decide to upgrade I will just get a old 4,1 8 core and put two hex's in it.
     
  17. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #17
    i'd be happy if they released all updated components in the current case and also extremely angry since in the last 6 months I've purchased a 5.1 12 core and a 5.1 quad and i would feel super compulsively to buy the new computer
     
  18. ABCDEF-Hex macrumors 6502

    ABCDEF-Hex

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Location:
    NC
    #18
    What do you call "sufficient interest"?

    Would that be more than the 69 users who voted in the recent video card thread by someone hoping to convince Apple that they should use the card he prefers? (Be Tim Cook for a day, which GPU brand for new Mac Pro?)
     
  19. Doc69 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #19
    I also think it would be great if we could get the latest and greatest hardware in the old Mac Pro case. But it will never happen. I still love the design and functionality of the current Mac Pro though, even if it's a decade old. Internal expandability is great! And the sheer size of the case makes for better air flow and a cooler running, and more silent computer.

    I'm definitely worried that the tiny trash can will be very loud when working hard. All my MBPs, including the latest rMBP, have been very loud for example, especially in the summer when it's warm inside. My 2010 Mac Pro is always quiet.
     
  20. MacMilligan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #20
    I'd much rather have today's case with new hardware. I have no use for an non-upgradable machine.
     
  21. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #21
    Folks must be running out of ideas for new threads while waiting for the new MacPro. :D
     
  22. phoenixsan macrumors 65816

    phoenixsan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #22
    With the current price.....

    of Thunderbolt tech, me too will take these things over TB and for granted.....:D


    :):apple:
     
  23. Pakaku macrumors 68000

    Pakaku

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #23
  24. JronMasteR macrumors 6502

    JronMasteR

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #24
    That card would not work in a Mac Pro. Thunderbolt needs to be natively integrated into the chipset, so upgrading the current MP is not possible. That ASUS card requires Z77 H77 chipset motherboards (ivy bridge), so older chipsets don't work, sadly.
     
  25. mcfx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Location:
    US

Share This Page