continuing saga

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Check 6, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. Check 6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #1
    As some of you may remember my Mac Pro was in the shop many times last winter and early this Spring for various issues, some software ( ie operating system issues) and some hardware ( optical drive and controller replaced, back up hard drive replaced etc) In April it was decided that there were just too many issues so the good people, and I mean that, at the local Apple store decided that enough was enough and replaced my 2 year old Mac Pro with a new one. They even provided some upgrades... I was a happy camper. Well it is now early October and the new unit is back for the third time. I have been told they are replacing the graphics card for some issues and troubleshooting why about 30% of the time I get incomplete cold boots and other software related issues. I will be the first to admit that software glitches are hard to troubleshoot, especially if they are random. Bottom line, the techs are great, positive attitude and very pro customer. I have owned many Apple products over the years, and still do and the only issue I have ever is continuing problems with the Mac Pro. Unfortunately I do like the product and especially the 30" Cinama display. Hopefully I will hear something soon and have my unit back this week. My MBP is getting a workout. Have others had major issues with the Mac Pro
     
  2. DJenkins macrumors 6502

    DJenkins

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    Two of our 5870 graphics cards just died within a few weeks of each other... having apple replace them with the same thing would be embarrassing, instead we just bought two fully functional and awesome GTX 570 cards!

    Really sucks to hear about your problems. I had this sort of thing a while back with pretty much every PC & laptop I owned dying within several weeks. Had a hunch it was the power in the building but I've since moved out of that place.
     
  3. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #3
    As I said I have had and still have numerous Apple products and the Mac Pro has been the only device with problems and I mean many problems. I did have issues with PC's and that is one of the many reasons I came back to Apple about 4 years ago.

    Don't think it is a power problem as I not only have the unit plugged in to a battery back up/surge protector but I also have a master surge protector on the main circuit breaker panel. Since I'm also a ham operator I monitor the house voltage all the time and it stays right between 121-123 volts. Hopefully I will hear something today. Sometimes wonder why I don't just put a SSD in my MBP and forget the Mac Pro, Oh well time will tell
     
  4. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #4
    Stopped by the Apple store to check on my Mac Pro since it has been there all week and I have not heard from them. So far nothing, as they have not found the cause of the random incomplete boot ups. Yes, I know the hardest issues to resolve are the random one and random software issues even harder to resolve. Since this is my second Mac Pro ( first one they took back after numerous lengthy stays, hardware issues) they are now talking about options to resolve this. I have not agreed to anything except I would really like the Mac Pro fixed as I use it daily Oh well there will be nothing until next week at least.
     
  5. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #5
    Sucks dude. I've not one issue in 2 Years with my 5870 and Hex. Insanely stable. But I run 10.6.8:p
    Really I have only had 1 issue (Nvidia 8600GT) in 12+ years personally. Professionally I see it all the time. Granted I am now going to be the recipient of tremendous bad luck thanks to this posting.
     
  6. Wardenski macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    #6
    My 8800GT and hard drive died last year in my 08 Mac Pro. Fortunately, I used an old HD from my G5 for bootcamp. I was able to boot into Windows, even with a dying 8800GT, so my Mac Pro never died.

    The G5 on the other hand...two logic board failures.
     
  7. OLDCODGER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lucky Country
    #7
    Because of a recurring problem that I had many years ago, I ask what may seem a silly question: how far away from your ham transmitter/s is your Mac Pro usually placed?
     
  8. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #8
    I have never had any problems with my Macs.
    I don't have my MP very long, I got it second hand a few months ago, but the owner told me that he never had problems and so far the machine is running absolutely great. I put 2 SSDs and a GTX570 in, still have the GT120 as a backup-GPU in case the GTX570 dies.

    My MBP is also second-hand. I own it since 1.5 years, it's a late 2008 MBP. The previous owner told me that shortly before selling it he had the complete logic board and motherboard as well as the display changed (via AppleCare) because of some random kernel panics and the display had some dead pixels.
    Not one kernel panic since 1.5 years - good performance so far.

    My parents bought an iMac in 2007, and it is really good doing. They are not very advanced users, but before I had my MBP I used the iMac too, and I am not very careful with software. The iMac still runs very good.
     
  9. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #9
    Good question, about 6 feet at least. I considered RF overload but I have had no issues with the MBP which is what I use when I'm on the air and it is closer. Likewise before I got the Mac Pro I used an Imac and it was physically closer than the Mac Pro is now. All the radio station and antennas are well grounded .

    ----------

    After answering the previous question I will raise another. The store manage has hinted that if the problem is not resolved they may offer an option of taking it in on trade ( tower only) for a new MBP or Imac. I might lean towards a full up Imac as I keep the computer on all day and battery life on a MBP might be a problem. Besides I already have a MBP Of course if I get an Imac I would have a glossy screen ( not the best on my eyes) and what do I do with the 30" Apple Cinima Display? Looking for advice ( as in suggestions. The Mac Pro is configured with

    2 2.4 gig quad core processors 12 gig of Apple 1333 RAM

    I gig of RAM on the video card one optical drive

    1 SSD for operating system and applications

    1 one Tb HD for data

    1 one Tb HD for Time machine

    I do the normal internet research, email use Office for MAC and Pages
    as well as Aperture, Photoshop and final cut pro plus some other small applications

    First choice is for them to fix the Mac Pro, second is a full up Imac except I then am faced with the glossy screen which is not good on my eyes and not a " true color for photo work

    As I said at the beginning I'm open to suggestions
    Thanks
     
  10. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #10
    I was hoping that I would get some suggestions on options should they not be able to correct the problems. I heard nothing form Apple over the weekend, get the feeling that they would just like me to go away.

    Let's ask another question. Has anyone had random issues on cold boots? I run Lion as an operating system. Specifically my problems include

    A. Computer will boot past the Apple logo to gray screen with horizontal lines scrolling down the screen. or

    B. Will boot to gray screen but not so far into the process that even the Apple logo will appear. or

    C. Will boot all the way to the desktop but I will get a message that it does not recognize the Apple trackpad and the cursor is frozen

    In all three cases the only way I can clear the issue is to shut down the computer via the on off power button a reboot is always normal.

    Each of these issues is random and never combined and their frequency is about 20 % of the times I cold boot the unit. Apple Techs say they cannot duplicate the problems and in fact one of their techs took the time to write up several pages that basically repeated the theme that the customer was a dumb ....... but he never addressed the problems. So suggestions

    No issues ever with my MBP or my wife's or her Imac and at least in my MBP case it is located and operated closer to the ham station then the Mac Pro ever was.
     
  11. jeremy h macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    It sounds like you've just got a lemon... I would do all I can to just get them to take it back on say the part exchange and get something else.

    Most of the Mac's I've had over the years (20+) have been great but I've occasionally had the odd really duff one. They were like really 'bad luck' machines and the only cure was to get rid off them and start again. They never seemed 'right'.

    I've had a few issues with my Mac Pro (08) but they've all been comprehensible and 'expected ' problems. (Not those weird ones you seem to be getting.) 8800 GT card went bad (happened to lots of others), a hard drive went (easy to replace) and DVD drive went. (Replaced it with a cheap generic one from Amazon).

    If I was in your position and I had a nice big display and ask for a trade in on a new Mac Pro or just go for the iMac.
     
  12. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #12
    Appreciate your comments: thought about the Imac but the glossy display is hard on my eyes ( my wife has an Imac) and the colors don't seem as true when doing photo work. If Apple had a non glare screen for the Imac it would be a "no brainer" as there would be fewer boxes around the desk. Yes, I do have a large display, the last of the 30" Cinama displays and again the reason was the non glare screen.

    Another option I was toying with was a new MBP fully loaded and use the Cinama or similar outboard display. Only issue there is constant battery recycles and thus lost life.

    My first option as I told the manager at the Apple store is fr them to fix the Mac Pro as I bought it because it best fit my needs. By the way I do have a year or so old MBP that is my back up and using it now. I do find some limitations. Interestingly I like the black keyboard on the MBP for feel better than the alum keyboard that comes with the Mac Pro. I guess if they fix the Pro I will get a DAS keyboard.

    Thanks again for the suggestions and hope more will chime in.
     
  13. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #13
    I would offer to trade your lemon in for a maxed out rMBP with a Thunderbolt external HDD and matching 27" Apple LED Display.
    Teach them the meaning of reliability. ;)
     
  14. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #14
    I wouldn't call a rMBP a Desktop replacement. A Traveling Desktop replacement, yes. If you work your computer fairly hard the longevity of the laptop could be in question. Not to mention the irritability of fan noise (even the improved retina fan design). Macbooks are fast enough in a sprint they just are not long distance runners.
     
  15. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #15
    Those were my thoughts also. Which leaves me with but two options and those would be first and foremost FIX MY MAC PRO and second a fully loaded Imac and find some form of matte screen cover to reduce the glare of the glossy screen.
     
  16. OLDCODGER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lucky Country
    #16
    Another silly question, if I may. You make mention of the fact that you monitor your power supply to the house, but have you verified your power to the Mac - between the battery backup unit and the Mac itself?

    Having two Mac Pros exhibiting similar random problems seems a bit odd, and indicates an external cause.
     
  17. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #17
    The first Mac Pro was all hardware issues, for the most part. This one appears to be software issues that are causing random incomplete boot ups'. If there were a hardware issue with this one I would say it would be the Graphics card. That was the focus of the first tech and he told me they were ordering a new card last week. For some reason that decision was over-ruled and they are now scratching their heads trying to replicate the incomplete boot ups'. Random software issues are the hardest to resolve so the unit remains in their hands. I would say with the number of times this one ( this is it's third trip to the doctor) and the initial one ( at least five trips, each of a week to 15 days) that over the last year and a half I have lost use of the Mac Pro system for at least a cumulative two to three months.

    Did i mention that I am not a happy camper. When working the Mac Pro is a great machine and I hope I get it back corrected
     
  18. OLDCODGER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lucky Country
    #18
    Considering the cost, and the bother you've had, it's the least you should expect.
     
  19. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #19
    2008 Mac Pro still going strong. Only thing that died so far has been the GPU.
     
  20. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #20
    I agree that a rMBP has a reduced shelf life, but it would give you maybe 4-5 years of use. Long enough to save for a proper replacement workstation and also long enough for Apple to get their thumbs out of their collective caboose and make an updated one.
     
  21. JKColo22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #21
    I had some very strange issues with 2 Mac Pros (2nd was a replacement) several years back. Straight out of the box, I was getting kernel panics when putting a heavy load on the processor. I put a UPS w/ built-in surge protector in front of the 3rd Mac Pro and never had any more issues. Who knows if it was a coincidence or not, but it left me feeling like the Pros are very susceptible to power fluctuations. I know you said you already have a UPS in front of your machines, but is it possible that the UPS is malfunctioning?
     
  22. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #22
    I have checked out the battery back up / surge protector and all is well. I use it for the laptop also. I still think the issue is in the core operating system and the boot files.

    Had a long chat with the head of the tech department at the local ( well sixty miles away) Apple store last evening, he called me. I very knowledgeable and mature young man and he described in depth the steps he was taking carefully to resolve the issue. While some of the younger techs are good at what they do, their customer interface is lacking, it is not with this gentleman and I trust what he says. Hopefully I will get the unit back Friday and that will be the last of the issues. Must say i am reluctant to upgrade to Mountain Lion until all is resolved.

    Which, of course brings up another question. Has anyone upgraded ( not clean installed) Mountain Lion over Lion and seen any marked advantages.

    Thanks for all your comments
     
  23. Garen macrumors regular

    Garen

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles Area
    #23
    Hello,

    My 07 MP exhibits similar symptoms as # "A" when connected to 30' ACD. If I put the MP in sleep at login screen for 10 seconds and then wake it, it works normally for few weeks and then it happens again I ruled out the GPU and the power brick for the 30 ACD. BTW it started almost 2 years a go when I upgraded to SL and now Lion. Of course if I reboot the MP or shutdown the monitor (power recycle) it also solves the problem. I also noticed higher failure rate when it is raining.

    Garen
     
  24. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #24
    It is Thursday and no word from the Apple store. I was in there yesterday and could not find out anything. About to press the option they offered and suggest a switch out for a fully loaded 27" Imac with the 3.4 i7 processor, 16 gig of RAM 2 gig of RAM on the graphics car and dual hard drives the first being solid state. That's about as close as I can come to my 5 month old MAc Pro. I will then have a 30 ACD to dispose of. Only downside is the glossy screen on the Imac but I will put a matte screen over it. I figure in the last year plus I have lost over 14 weeks use of my Mac Pro ( original and replacement) Oh well mechanical things will fail and at my age while frustrated you know its going to happen even with the highest quality items, a fact of life.
     
  25. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #25
    Well for those that are interested, and few probably are. However, this is a way to let my frustrations out. My 6 month old Mac Pro has now been in the shop for at least two weeks ( this time) and they have now asked for my 30" ACD even though they checked it out when it was in less than two months ago. I will be the first to admit that trying to find a random problem and a random software issue just makes the search harder. How many times have you taken anything form car to small appliance in for service with a random problem and it could not be duplicated. This is what is being faced with my Mac Pro. To repeat, in the less than three years I have owned a total of two Mac Pros they, combined, have spent over 14 weeks in the shop. The problems with the last one were clear, mostly hardware and only when it finally got down to the core issue being the mother board was it replaced with the current one which has displayed these random boot up issues since day one. My wife and I both have MBP's that have been flawless, likewise hear over two year old iMac as well as the three year old imac I bought our daughter and son in law and th MBP I bought them have had NO ISSUES. It is only the MP that has been problematic. I have now lost all faith in the MP and hopefully they will offer to build me up a loaded Imac so we can move on. Unfortunately much of the info I need for work is only on the MP and not my MBP so I am scrambling to honor obligations. How much we have come to depend on computers. Now that I have bored those that have read this dialog at least I feel better. Thanks
     

Share This Page