Controlling D50 via Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by silbeej, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. silbeej macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #1
    Is there any way to control my Nikon D50 with my MBP? As in when it is attached with the USB cable, can i adjust aperture, shutter speed and all the electronic settings without touching it, and then take pictures as well. So if i am taking a multi shot HDR, or anything else that i don't not want shake from?
     
  2. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #2
    Bibble Pro supports tethered shooting for the D50, might be worth checking out a demo...
     
  3. poopyhead macrumors 6502a

    poopyhead

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Location:
    in the toe-jam of greatness (Fort Worth)
  4. zdobson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #4
    Check the software that came with the camera. I shoot Canon and the software it came with three years ago allows me to do that.
     
  5. Crawn2003 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, California
    #5
    Won't the OP need Nikon Capture NX to do tethered shooting?

    ~Crawn
     
  6. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #6
    No, NX doesn't do tethered shooting, NCC is the Nikon answer. But with Bibble Pro you get 3rd party lens correction and better cross-platform support than Nik software's currently offering.
     
  7. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #7
    As of Leopard, you can supposedly do this using Image Capture. You probably need to switch your camera's connection mode to PTP as well, rather than Mass Storage.

    It's one of those new features I've been meaning to try but haven't got 'round to it yet™.
     
  8. Crawn2003 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, California
    #8
    You're right, it was Nikon Capture Control that I was thinking of.

    I'm so used to using the Fuji Hyper Utility that I don't even bother with the Nikon side much anymore...

    ~Crawn
     
  9. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #9
    Image Capture works fine with my D50. But it is very primitive. The only thing it can do is trip the shutter. No control of the other camera settings.
     

Share This Page