Controlling mac with just the keyboard?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by JHNguyen, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. JHNguyen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #1
    Hi,
    I've got my MBP connected to my HDTV and I also have an aluminum bluetooth keyboard. I want to control my mac from the sofa with just he keyboard.. (I dont have a flat surface for the mouse)

    The thing is, I'm not going to be doing much that far away from my computer. If I need to do something a little more technical, I'll get up closer and use a mouse. But I just want to check my mail, chat, surf the net.. I need to be able to zoom in and zoom out, switch applications that are open.. without a mouse.

    Is this possible? Would you guys recommend it?
    I could also just invest in a bluetooth keyboard with a trackpad.
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    i used to do all keyboard with my compaq back in college....

    NO, AFAIK, i can't access app menus or move focus around desktop with keyboard
     
  3. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #3
    Try Ctrl + F2 ;)
     
  4. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #4
    Ctrl + the function keys (F1, F2, F3....) switches focus between the menu bar, the dock, various windows, etc., and then you can use the arrow keys to navigate there in. You can use "tab" to switch between text fields and things like that. Use "Cmd + Tab" to switch between open programs. Use "Cmd + ~" to switch between windows in front application. You can use Spotlight (Cmd + Space) to launch any applications you don't have in the dock or another launcher (like Quicksilver). So in short, you can fully control OS X directly from the keyboard.
     
  5. Schnebar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #5
    You can always go to Universal Access under Mouse and set it so if you press option key five times you can use the num pad to control the mouse.
     
  6. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #6
    Thank you SO much for the Cmd + ~ tip! I use Cmd + Tab a lot, but I missed being able to switch actual application windows like I used to do with Alt + Tab in Windows.
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    huh, lot of new info, I will try out later when i get to my MB.
     
  8. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #8
    Also, if you enable full keyboard access under "Keyboard and Mouse" you can tab to all of the major controls in an open window.
     
  9. JHNguyen thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #9
    Thanks for the tips, though I'm still running into some problems.

    The commands to switch applications work great.. now I'm just looking for a way to zoom. I can zoom with the keyboard commands, but, I need to point the mouse to the spot where I want to zoom in. I COULD use the numpad mouse setting, but, when that's on.. I cannot zoom. Any suggestions?
     
  10. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #10
    Can't zoom with the mouse keys on? I assume you are using Cmd + Option + "+" and "-" to zoom in and out, you mean? And then the keypad with mouse keys to move around? And it's not working? I tried it just now and I managed to zoom in, move the mouse and view around with the keypad, and then zoom back out just fine, so I'm not sure what the cause of your troubles is. Is it possible you accidentally hit Cmd + Option + 8 somewhere in the course of this? Because that will turn zooming on and off. I can't think of anything else unless I'm missing something in what you're saying.
     
  11. JHNguyen thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #11
    I just have to turn off mouse keys (press option 5 times) in order to zoom in.
    It may because I'm on an aluminum wireless keyboard w/ no number pad.. I'm not sure.

    While that does work, is their any easier ways to zoom in a paticular spot without a mouse, or is that the only way?
     
  12. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #12
    I'm on a MacBook with no number pad, too. I can turn on mouse keys with option 5 times, and I can still zoom in with Cmd + Option + "+" and "-" with it on. I'm not sure if there's another way to zoom in like that, but it should definitely be possible the way you're trying to do it, so I'm still not sure what's going wrong. Have you tried hitting Cmd + Option + 8 (which turns the ability to zoom on and off)?
     
  13. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #13
    nice, altho I have to press 3 keys on my MB to do that. While I can do it with one or two keys in windows..

    But, its do-able indeed
     
  14. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #14
    Well if you really want you can make it two.
     
  15. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #15
    i doubt I will need it, since now Im a major mice person, but I would sure appreciate your tips ;)
     
  16. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #16
    System Preferenes - Keyboard & Mouse - Keyboard - Use all F1, F2, etc ...
     
  17. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #17
    thanks

    If I can make one suggestion, I would suggest apple to separate these keys (an advanced setting button hidden by default?). volumes up/down are most used among them, while num lock, display are never used on my MB, It would be nice if i can pick and choose which one I want to be standard...

    I know, I know, somebody would accuse this being confusing.....lol.
     
  18. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #18
    You can always make up your own shortcut keys for this. Go over to "Keyboard Shortcuts" in Sys Pref -> Keyboard and Mouse and scroll down to the ^F1, ^F2, etc., under Keyboard Navigation. Double click on the shortcut you want to change and type whatever you want it to be. You could make it Cmd + F2, Option + F2, or Cmd + Option + Shift + Left hand over head + ; + 6 if you really want. If you want it to be really Windows-y you could just set it to Alt/Option + Z or X or something, so you're practically just hitting an Alt button or something.
     

Share This Page