Controlling the Apple TV without remote

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by shadman, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. shadman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #1
    I don't have an Apple Remote to control it with, but it looks like its the only thing I can use. I have an Iphone and have tried Apple's "remote" app, but it wasn't working for me at the time. There have been updates to it but I'm not sure if it will work.

    Any other suggestions? Since Apple felt USB mice and keyboards shouldn't work on it? ;p
     
  2. FamiliaPhoto macrumors 6502a

    FamiliaPhoto

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    The remote for iPhone is a great option and what I use instead of the provided remote. If you don't have the provided remote you might have problems making the iPhone remote work as you need to pair the iPhone with the ATV. To do this I did need the provided remote.
     
  3. rotarypower101 macrumors regular

    rotarypower101

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    #3
    Um? Borrow one from a friend to set up remote.app?
    there like what $15? Just buy one or upgrade to harmony 1 or equivelent.

    I find remote.app promising,but very unreliable at best, ymmv
    particularly running 3.01, I have had to downgrade to software 1.0 because of constant and consistant crashing

    need to find time to reload 2.4,not perfect but much better than 3.01 for us

    good luck
     
  4. shadman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #4
    Spend $15 so I can use the app on my phone? Don't think so.

    But I definitely need a remote to connect my phone and it? No other options remote-less?
     
  5. FamiliaPhoto macrumors 6502a

    FamiliaPhoto

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    I don't know of a way to pair the remote.app is by using an apple remote. Did one not come with the ATV?
     
  6. tom1971 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #6
    Didn't you say, you don't like the Remote App for the iphone ? :rolleyes:
     
  7. Bye Bye Baby macrumors 65816

    Bye Bye Baby

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    i(am in the)cloud
    #7
    I've got to say that the tv remote that I have (Sony Bravia) is great now that I have it set up on the ATV.

    I have the bravia remote control the PS3, the AV receiver and the ATV all in one. Bravia sync is a great feature from Sony. Sorry- a bit off the topic.
     
  8. rotarypower101 macrumors regular

    rotarypower101

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    #8
    Or the first suggestion is always a viable option?

    Is this a new feature? I don't recall seeing this in our manual ,and since harmony LCDs don't seem to be munchkin dance proof/resistant( sigh...) we are looking for more durable solutions.
     
  9. Bye Bye Baby macrumors 65816

    Bye Bye Baby

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    i(am in the)cloud
    #9
    You can use your tv remote with an ATV. You need to programme it first, but it works very well.
     
  10. shadman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #10
    Sounds good, I'll try that. Do I need to program it in the Apple TV options like they are telling me to do with remote.app?

    By the way to everyone, I got the AppleTV off a friend, but I havn't been able to contact them very much. They forgot to give me the remote =P
     
  11. scottness macrumors 65816

    scottness

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    Room 101
    #11
    You can buy mine for $5. Shipping included. PM me if interested.
     
  12. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #12
    You need at least one working remote in order to set up any others as you won't be able to select the appropriate option under Settings on the :apple:TV without a remote.
     

Share This Page