Conundrum downgrading 4.3.4 to 4.3.3

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by crampinator, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. crampinator, Jul 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2011

    crampinator macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #1
    Okay people I'm trying to downgrade my iPhone 4 on a Mac from 4.3.4 to 4.3.3 (got blobs) I went the usual Shift-Restore way on iTunes and I get error 1013 (as usual) and went into Recovery Mode when I opened Tiny Umbrella there was no Exit Recovery option so I clicked Fix Recovery, left it running for like 10 minutes to no avail. Attempted RecBoot which did nothing. Then I restored to 4.3.3 again, when it hit Recovery Mode I put it on DFU and ran Redsnow, pointed it to the 4.3.3 .ipsw and Jailbroke, that actually booted my phone but then I had no Carrier or signal. A friend suggested another fresh Restore and Redsnow and point it to the 4.3.2 .ipsw, when the phone booted I had one Signal Bar but still no Carrier. I read somewhere to install Ultrasnow and that would fix it, it didn't work. Since I need my phone I updated to 4.3.4 again but I would love to downgrade. Any ideas or solutions that don't involve Pwnage Tool before I try again? I read that I needed to uncheck all boxes in the Advanced section of Tiny Umbrella and I've also read of a TU Recovery Loop fix but don't know how to execute it. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
  3. crampinator thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
  4. himni macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
  5. crampinator thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
  6. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #6
    Not sure what you are doing, but this is what you should be doing;

    1.) Put it into DFU using Apple's instructions (connect iphone into itunes/computer, hold power button 3 secs, Power+home for 10 secs, release power and just hold home button until your iphone STAYS off completely and is recognized by itunes, should take no more than 15 secs)

    2.) Restore to 4.2.8 ipsw. If you can't do this due to itunes error, while you're on the most recent version of itunes and after trying different usb ports, then your SHSH wasn't saved so you are more or less scr3w3d until the next untethered jailbreak.


    3.) Jailbreak using redsn0w rc19 (google it)

    My guess is your SHSH wasn't ever saved, or you aren't entering DFU mode but think you are. If you're so sure it was, google the error you get and see what comes up.
     
  7. crampinator thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #7

    I have my blobs, they showed both on Cydia & TU, I can't possibly restore to 4.2.8 because I'm on ATT. I'm succesfully downgraded from 4.3.4 to 4.3.3 so blobs aren't the problem, the problem is when I exit the Recovery Loop via Redsn0w my phone isn't activated because I have no Carrier or signal. I need a way to exit recovery without my phone turning into a fat iPod.
     
  8. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #8
    Did you start the TU server? Are your blobs on the computer, cydia or both? If cydia, make sure the appropriate boxes are checked to direct to cydia.
    Are you using custom firmware or stock? With custom, you have to uncheck activation for at&t users.

    Just because a previous user wrote the wrong firmware number doesn't mean the advice doesn't apply to you.
     
  9. HiDEF macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #9
     
  10. HiDEF macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #10
    What boxes and where?
     
  11. norrismantooth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
  12. HiDEF macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #12
    I to ran into similar issues last night when I tried to downgrade from 4.3.5 to 4.3.3--Cydia has my 4.3.3 SHSH blob saved and TU has 4.3.2 saved. I get stuck in the recovery loop and TU won't knock it out of recovery either.

    Any suggestions?
     
  13. HiDEF macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #13
    Thanx! I'll try this when I get home.
     
  14. norrismantooth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
  15. HiDEF macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #15
    Should I check or uncheck? I ask this because Cydia has my 4.3.3 blob and TU has my 4.3.2.
     
  16. norrismantooth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #16
    If you're trying to downgrade to 4.3.2, request it from whoever has your 4.3.2 blob.

    Also, you can do a search for custom 4.3.3. IPSW - I think I got mine from GeoHot'z. I restored from custom, and used JB.me. I think Apple is still signing 4.3.3. Not sure.
     
  17. HiDEF macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #17
    When downgrading, should I start TU's TSS Servers or should I edit the 'host' file in iTunes so its directed to Saurik's servers instead?
     
  18. HiDEF macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #18
    TinyUmbrella just got updated to v5.00.07, wonder if this would fix the problem..?
     
  19. HiDEF macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #19
    I'm still having issues trying to exit out of error 1013 recovery mode
     
  20. himni macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #20


    Download the latest TU (5.00.07) and under Advanced select "UPDATE iPHONE 4 BASEBAND"

    Then start TSS server and restore to 4.3.3

    You shouldn't get a 1013 error. See if this works for you.

    If that doesn't work download this from TU's website (Windows) or (MAC)
     
  21. HiDEF macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #21
    I'll try selecting the "updating iphone 4 baseband" and try my luck, I'll keep you posted.
     
  22. HiDEF macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #22
    Do I need to start TSS server? Or can I just edit the host file?

    I ask this because, when I start TSS servers, I get the error 21. When I edit the host file, I get the 1013 error.
     
  23. HiDEF macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
  24. himni macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #24

    Did you get an error or what happened?
     
  25. himni macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #25
    for the error 21 try doing it again but put the iPhone in DFU mode and then restoring.
     

Share This Page