Convert 8 channel discrete AAC to AC3?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by nateo200, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. nateo200, Nov 11, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2011

    nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #1
    First off is it needed to convert 8 channel discrete AAC to 8 channel AC3 to pass this via HDMI to a multichannel home theater decoder? I have Transformers 3 BluRay ripped and I finally tracked down the 8 channel sound track and muxed it into the crappy 6 channel discrete (ok crappy is definitely not fair but 8 channel is such a "mines bigger" thing :D).

    I haven't been able to test it (aside from down mixed version over optical which handles 5.1 for some reason..?..) as my current surround sound system does not have 7.1 surround set up yet but my family is getting a new system soon so if needed I would like to have everything properly encoded to test watch the glory :D.

    Second (or third haha) does anyone have any idea on where I can find a software encoder such as Handbrake but for audio (Handbrake doesn't go past 6 channel discrete). I want to be a little bit more crafty with my audio:p I would die and come back to life if I could find something that could create 6 or 8 channel audio by re-mixing it myself. I'd also like to be able to extract 8 channels from Transformers to get the raw audio file so I can mux it into a lower quality version for a friend who only has the DVD rip but I will hopefully convert him to an audiophile.
     
  2. AdrianK, Nov 11, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2011

    AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #2
    8 channel AAC? Sounds totally legit, bro. If you owned the BD you'd have 7.1 TrueHD...

    If you actually want to do this you'll probably need eac3to, then you'll need to encode as TrueHD, DTS-HD MA or PCM (since AC3 and DTS don't do 7.1).

    Handbrake has a 6 channel limit for the reasons mentioned above - it doesn't do THD/DTS-HD/PCM.

    Finally, if you're trying to convert someone in to an audiophile using a file which has been lossy->lossy encoded half a dozen times, you're doing it wrong.
     
  3. nateo200, Nov 11, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2011

    nateo200 thread starter macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #3
    Call the cyber police, I torrented a BluRay rip. BTW I do have the DVD ripped from a friend (very low quality rip) but, I have, at this time, no use for an actual BluRay disc as my Mac doesn't play BluRays. I'd pay big money for the ability to get a lossless BluRay copy over the Internet, but again I have nothing to play a BluRay discs on TV or computer. I never planned on passing AC3 7.1 over optical
    , I'm planning on passing it over HDMI.

    EDIT: eac3to doesn't appear to be on Mac OS X..?..Every website lists it as windows (.exe)..?
    More sarcasm really as he works at a Movie theater :D (No I did not ask him to steal the 4k lossless version off the encrypted hard drives haha).
     
  4. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #4
    I did edit my post before you replied.

    Forgot to mention that - I always jump over to windows for thing - my bad.
     
  5. nateo200 thread starter macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #5
    ^^^My email notification gave me that and said you posted that so I assume you edited it out by accident. Is this true?! I only need a BluRay ROM USB player?! If so I will gladly buy BluRays by the dozen! I use MakeMKV for DVD's and I love it so I'm glad to hear I can put an entire BluRay in one container format then compress it or do whatever I want with it! Thanks!
     

Share This Page