Convert Windows Starcraft to Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Keleko, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #1
    I have a Windows version of Starcraft that I got when the game originally came out. I also have Brood Wars. Is there some way to turn that into a Mac OS native install without buying a new copy? I can run it in Crossover Games if I have to, but I was just wondering if it was possible to run Mac native if I could.
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    No, there's no way to automatically convert it to run natively. If that were possible, there'd be a lot more Mac versions of Windows games. :)
     
  3. Keleko thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #3
    I'm not asking for a conversion of the program itself. I know what I have can't run Mac natively with what I have. :) I was looking more for a way to get the Mac install legally using my windows license.
     
  4. Foop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #4
    I had the same problem and I was stuck until Blizzard started their download service. Go to their website, create an account and register your windows copy. You can then download the mac native version of the game for free, and you don't need the disk to run it.
     
  5. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #5
    Thats pretty cool of Blizzard. :)
     
  6. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #6
    Sorry. :eek: I misread your post, so I was happy to read that:
    ...which is very nice of them. :)

    I ended up buying versions for both OSs... well, years ago. :D
     
  7. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    Aren't just about all versions of blizzard games on a cd cross-platform?
     
  8. g4cubed macrumors 6502a

    g4cubed

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    #8
    Now, but in the beginning like most games it started PC.
     
  9. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #9
    OP double check your copy. The first release of Starcraft was Windows only. After about a year they started doing hybrids of Starcraft (both Windows and Mac on same disk) which is what I have. I have one copy of SC and BW and they are both Windows and Mac disks.
     
  10. jeffuwee macrumors member

    jeffuwee

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #10
    if i buy one nowadays it'll work on both mac and windows right? i have my cd from like what '98? or something? and needless to say its pretty beat up :D
     
  11. Keleko thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #11
    I already checked that. I wouldn't have posted if it was. I'm glad to see that I can get it from Blizzard as a download, though. Of course, the Blizzard store is down now. When it comes back up I wonder if they're going to have the new Macbooks... ;)
     
  12. Foop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #12
    Once the store comes back up and you add your windows license, you will be given a new online CD key. Use this new key to activate the OSX version you download, not the original windows key. This tripped me up for a while when I did it.
     
  13. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #13
    I know the first edition of StarCraft released on a CD was Windows only and later they made the disc hybrid to work with OS 9. Later Blizzard released the OS X installers which included the native binary files. I wonder if you can use the native installer with the Windows only CD? I'm sure its worth a shot:

    http://ftp.blizzard.com/pub/starcraft/patches/Mac/StarCraft_OS_X_Installer.dmg
     
  14. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    You can't.
     
  15. Keleko thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #15
    Registering my Starcraft CD with Blizzard and then downloading worked just fine. They have 1.15.2 for the download, so I had to get the 1.15.3 patch separately. Once I installed and applied the patch it runs just fine. Thanks for the help!
     
  16. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #16
    I bought the SC+Brood War combo. I lost my brood war disk but they share cd keys so I could download the whole pack from the Blizz site :D.

    Amazing. :)
     
  17. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #17
    Wow, I never knew you could buy & digitally download Starcraft. I just bought it this minute but...

    I never read the fine print. It's PPC only, and I only have an Intel Mac at the mo (though I might be able to get my hands on a G5). The Downloader is failing with an authentication issue, but my account looks ok. Is it possible to even download the game on an Intel Mac?
     
  18. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #18
    The game is so old it runs in Rosetta just fine. Its a bit buggy on Intel tough, but still works.
     
  19. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #19
    Cheers, thanks. Good to know.

    It must be just some account problem so. I emailed Blizzard, but even if you follow the Starcraft links everything seems to relate to WoW. All I've received back is a form reply talking about WoW, still unable to download. :eek:
     
  20. Foop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #20
    I had problems with the download site as well. I tried both Safari and Firefox with no luck. I ended up downloading the mac version via IE in bootcamp and copying the file across. I know it's a pain, but once the download completes everything works in OSX without a hitch.
     
  21. Keleko thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #21
    Wow, that's strange. I had 0 problems downloading from Firefox. I downloaded a program that handled the actual Starcraft install program download. It all worked without a hitch once I had registered my copy on their site.
     
  22. Foop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #22
    I did it the first week the store was up. I sent a tech support ticket and got a reply back suggesting to use IE because the store was so new they didn't have the bugs worked out yet. I guess if it worked for you it means they've been improving it. Good to hear.
     
  23. echeck macrumors 68000

    echeck

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    #23
    Well, that's what I get for assuming.

    I just bought the digital copies of SC and BW for $15 a few days ago because my original SC is Windows only. I had no idea you could just go online and register the copy and download a Mac version.

    Blizzard is awesome. :)
     
  24. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #24
    Having seen the success of this, and Steam; and of the App Store for the iPhone/iTouch; how long before Apple provides a Mac app store on iTunes?

    Think of how that could re-energise Mac game & app sales!
     

Share This Page