Converted AVI to DV, playback still choppy in iMovie?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by timetostopnow, Jun 2, 2009.

1. timetostopnow macrumors newbie

So I am new to iMovie and trying to figure it out. I don't have a camcorder, but I took some videos on my digital camera (Canon Powershot SD1000).

I don't have a firewire cable for this camera, just USB so I can't really capture it into iMovie, so I exported it to my Powerbook. Unfortunately it saves it to AVI, 15 fps.

I imported the AVI into iMovie and the playback was choppy, so I figured I should first use Quicktime Pro to export it to a DV Stream.

So then I imported my new DV movie into iMovie but the playback is still choppy. It makes editing the video impossible! The audio is not choppy, but it does not match up with the video. The video lags behind the audio.

Now this could be my problem, but I'm not sure: All I did with QT Pro was I just opened the AVI then chose "Export" and then chose "Movie to DV Stream" but I left the settings on "Default Settings." Should I have picked a different setting?

Also, when I opened Movie Inspector in QT Pro, it shows that my DV is 29.97 fps and 640 x 480 pixels. I verified that my project in iMovie is set to 29.97 fps, but I can't find where to set the pixels.

What should I do?

Thanks

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

First, 29.97 frames and 640x480 are the settings for the NTSC broadcast standard, so if you selected NTSC DV in iMovie it is completely fine.

Also, when you exported the video via QT (Pro), did you notice a speed up in the resulting video?

You're basically changing from 15 frames to almost 30 frames per second, that's double the speed.
    I haven't a 15fps video with me right now, but maybe QT Pro will lengthen and interpolate the missing frames, so 15 frames will become 29.97 frames per second, without speeding up the video.