Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KayH

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 3, 2014
I am still fairly new to Mac. I like to take and edit photos. I did this a lot with my PC and can't quite figure out an equivalent process to what I'm used to.
Here's how I used to organize my photos in folders and subfolders for example, Vacations>Hawaii>edits.
And as for my working process on the photos, I'd open a folder to view photos, choose one and open with editing software, then "save as" so I could keep my original and edited copies.
I'm getting frustrated because I can't figure out how to use iphoto to do what I need, but I know there has to be a good way to do this with Macs.

KayH

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 3, 2014
I'll check out pixelmator. Thanks! But I have been using iPhoto and I can't find a way to manage folders (albums, events, whatever) the way I want to. Any tips?

Dark Dragoon

macrumors 6502a
Jul 28, 2006
UK
But I have been using iPhoto and I can't find a way to manage folders (albums, events, whatever) the way I want to. Any tips?

First off, it doesn't sound like you aren't doing this but don't be tempted to manually move around the photos stored inside the iPhoto library using Finder, as it will mess up the iPhoto library. Do everything from inside the iPhoto application.

Now that that's out of the way, here's one option for using iPhoto. There are others but this sounds like it might work for you.

1) For each event, which could say be your visit to Hawaii or a specific day on your holiday, put the photos into an event and name it something meaningful. Do this for all of your photos. In the events view you will then have a lot of events.