Converting avi to DVD

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ionlygreat, Jul 30, 2008.

1. ionlygreat macrumors member

Hi guys
    I have a bunch of episodes of a TV show stored on my external hard drive. (episodes of the British car show Top Gear, if you wanna know which show)
    They're all in .avi format - DivX and xVid. I want to write these to DVDs season-by-season so that I can be more organized, and so that it would be easier for me to watch these without having to connect my computer to the TV using s-video. I want to create a DVD menu with a list of the shows etc. and I believe all of this can be done on iDVD (i'm new to the mac and haven't looked through all of this yet).
    I'd like to know what software to use in order to convert the avi files to a format that'll work on my DVD player.
    Will Handbrake/VisualHub do the job, or is there something else I should be looking at? I'm willing to get Toast if it'll work.

Software I have/will get:
    Quicktime Pro
    iDVD
    Handbrake (havent' got it yet)
    Toast (if necessary)

2. northy124 macrumors 68020

northy124

VisualHub is what you want to convert to DVD although it will look crap.

3. ionlygreat thread starter macrumors member

I'd like to avoid shelling out money for VisualHub, especially if I can't get good clarity. The files are mostly around 700 mb for each episode (exactly one hour long) so they look great even when I watch them on TV by connecting my laptop via s-video.
    Is there an alternative that'll preserve clarity? Otherwise, I don't see any point in doing this.

4. PaulMoore macrumors regular

I hate people who suggest a really expensive option but I have a lot of avi files I like to watch on TV and they do look crap when converted to DVD format.

So I bought a cheap Philips DVD player like this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Philips-DVP51...2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1217430285&sr=8-2